Colonial Inquest Imperial Stout

Total Score: 8.8/10 Coffee1DarkFruits1Wood1Tulipglass1

Lordy this is one BIG 11.7% ABV brew from Colonial Brewing in Margaret River, WA. Considering the largest brew they do ATM is their Australian IPA at 6.5% it’s a bit of a step up. Also a step into the dark for a brewer normally known for their light brews. Justifiably I was excited to get my review shizzle on with this – I love a good Russian Imp Stout, and of course I also love my beers Bearing Immense Gusto (i.e. BIG). Colonial also have the distinction (for me at least) of having hands-down THE BEST can tops on any can I’ve seen – the entire lid lifts off, turning your can into a proper drinking vessel. I know it’s hard to understand my hyperbole here but please buy yourself a Colonial brew – then you will appreciate where I’m coming from.

Poured from a nifty-as-bro 375ml can where, and I may have mentioned this already: THE ENTIRE LID LIFTS OFF, into a Duvel tulip.

A: Looks positively full of syrupy goodness here – deep black cola body, is it opaque? Can’t tell. With a nice thick mocha-coloured head that ever slowly drops down to a thin blanket. Damn Colonial, you looking good! 9/10.

S: Red coffee cherries, dark fruits, and the tears of kittens – which have a berry-like note to them (believe me I’ve drunk many kitten tears over the years). This aroma is ominously fruity – like some sort of weird chewing gum marketed towards demon spawn. I’m going in! 8/10.

T: First up: This is a sugar bomb. Glad we got that out of the way because other than that there is a symphony of flavours going on: Red coffee cherries, lightly roasted coffee beans, dark fruits (more plum/prune than anything else), forest berries, a touch of oak as well… wait up! These are Baltic Porter flavours in a RIS package – that’s what it is! It’s all rather interesting in the flavour department, no doubt adding in Mandarina Bavaria hops has given this Stout such an intriguing cacophony of characters. Importantly though: It all works well. 9/10.

M: Heavy bodied and quiet viscous, Founders body viscous (aka Founders Breakfast Stout)? Almost… though I haven’t had FBS in ages so I’m not sure if my memory serves me well. Carbonation? Minimal but present. 9/10.

D: Colonial have made it hard for me not to like this beer, though it definitely requires an Insulin shot afterwards (and I’m not a Diabetic!). It’s BIG, it’s moody, it’s good and the only negative really is the sugar and the fact that there are 3.5 standard drinks in 1 can, I can’t even drive after 1 of these! 9/10.

Food match: If we’re going to drink kitten tears we may as well have roast puppy.

Standard

Leave a Reply

