Bacchus Brewing Deathstar American Barleywine

Total Score: 6.05/10 Caramel1Passionfruit1Biscuit1Tulipglass1

Yet another reason to celebrate: It’s my 15th Bacchus review! Yay!!! Bacchus, and by extension head brewer Ross Kenrick, are Australia’s answer to Mikkeller, i.e. Mikkel Borg Bjergsø, Denmark’s answer to Bacchus. I’m pretty glad that Bacchus began bottling their gold and selling it to my local Black Sheep bottle shop, as it has given me the chance to taste these weird and wonderful (and occasionally not-so-great) creations. This one: Deathstar American Barleywine, contains the following (as head brewer Ross must not be a fan of the Reinheitsgebot): Water, barley, candi syrup, passionfruit, dextrose, hops, and yeast. Oh and there’s a Star Wars theme with this brew in the hops: Galaxy, Falconers Flight, and Orbit – Rad!

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Fizzy head – straight off the bat – very fizzy… it’s like pop rocks in a glass [80’s reference, sorry kids… you shouldn’t be reading this anyway]. Caramel coloured body, with a head… when it was there… that had an off-white, almost yellow tinged, colour. Bizarre stuff. 4/10.

S: This beer is decidedly caramel/toffee/molasses and whatever malt flavour you can throw at it. Not much in the way of hops – admittedly my fault as I’ve had this beer in my fridge for some time (brew date is: 23/12/16) – again my fault, I should have got into this much much earlier… oh well, I’ll re-review the next batch. Weirdly not getting any passionfruit aroma though – passionfruit doesn’t fade does it? 5/10.

T: Flavour is a remarkable step up: Passionfruit is there, along with a big caramel/biscuit base. The whole thing comes across like a glass of Pavlova, or a passionfruit meringue – pretty tasty. The 12.2% ABV is pretty well hidden, though there is a bit of warmth in the oesophagus. Missing the hop flavours though, bit of a shame I left it in the fridge so long, lesson learnt. Sweet/bitter balance is pretty even, with sweetness winning out just a touch. Aftertaste has a touch of herbal bitterness. 7/10.

M: Mid to heavy bodied, flat carbonation – again I’m expecting that this was due to how long it’s been sitting in the fridge, mea culpa. 5/10.

D: I’m keen to get my hands on a fresh batch of this as, even though it aged terribly, the flavours were on point, and it was hard to tell where the alcohol went as I soon succumbed to a tipsy state without even noticing (though bkazxm, skdhjfb) [exactly!]. I hope Bacchus experiment more with this style. 6/10.

Food match: Fried Wookiee with a side of Sarlacc chips.

Standard

Leave a Reply

