Nomad Supersonic DIPA

Total Score: 7.2/10 Lime1Caramel1Coriander1Nonicpint1

Back in the Double IPA saddle with this latest Nomad: Supersonic DIPA. Warning: Native finger limes were harmed during the brewing of this beer. So the last DIPA I reviewed was *checks blog* last night! Well, I’m going to have to slow down again, I’m building up to something big for #850 and it’s got me drinking more than usual – so yeah: rein it in Doc! Back to Nomad – who have been a bit miss and miss for me (having only tried their Choc Wort Orange and Freshie Salt & Pepper Gose). I decided as ever to put Nomad through my classic DIPA litmus test to see if my original thoughts about them being not that great are actually wide of the mark – using Australian finger limes in their DIPA is a pretty good idea too.

Poured from a 330ml can into a nonic pint.

A: YEAST CLUMP ALERT: There are yeast clumps floating around in this brew. Can be a cause for concern – some of the bad brews in my past had yeast clumps floating around, it’s a sign of secondary fermentation. So fingers crossed this cloudy brown-tinged amber bodied off-white head brew hasn’t turned as well. 5/10.

S: Smells fine though, good in fact, with a zesty citric lime aroma and caramel malts. Aroma is a bit lime riddled, however who doesn’t love lime? Even Coronas love a lime wedge, stop being such a stick in the mud you imaginary lime hater. Touch of earthy character too. Overall balance between sweet/bitter smells about right. 8/10.

T: Tastes pretty limey, with a broad caramel malt base, some earthy tones, and a touch of rocket herbal pepperiness towards the finish. The sweet/bitter balance is reasonably well done without outright impressing me – it’s quietly humble in that regard. Finish has a medium bitterness, fairly easy drinking DIPA for an IPA-lover like me. If I was to compare this to a Pirate Life IIPA or Blackman’s (Angry Reg of course!) I would say Nomad is playing it a little too safe here. 7/10.

M: Not so great: Needs more body for a DIPA – almost medium bodied but it should be heavier and smoother overall. Carbonation is light but dense – OK there. 6/10.

D: So glad this beer hadn’t turned – I love a good DIPA, and Australia needs more of this style. However apart from the limes this is a bit of a paint-by-numbers DIPA that is holding back a bit in the flavour department – it could be bigger, it could have more body, it could challenge this DIPA drinker. It is pleasant – don’t get me wrong – but so is a warm bowl of soap on a cold winters day, and you don’t have soup every day unless you’re my brother (he sure likes his soup). 8/10.

Food match: I’m going to throw this out there and see if it sticks: Wood-fired pizza.

Standard

Leave a Reply

