Magic Rock High Wire Grapefruit Pale Ale

Total Score: 6.9/10 Grapefruit1Orange1HopFlower1Nonicpint1

Yet another grapefruit-infused beer to add to the tally of grapefruit-infused beers out there (BrewDog Elvis Juice is still my fav in this category). Magic Rock is a new brewer for me, and I have been impressed with some of the newer craft brewers I’ve tried from the UK, plus the label looks cool, and when has a label ever failed me before? [sarcasm: yes indeed]. I’m actually curious to try their Cannonball IPA now, don’t think I’ve had a true American IPA from England before… I’ve had some BrewDog ones, but they’re from Scotland – the soon to be independent northern British isles country, where the beers are generally better 😛

Poured from a 330ml can into a Duvel tulip.

A: Cloudy tangelo body with a nice fairly-dense white half centimetre head that slowly drops down to a splotchy covering. Plenty of bubbles on the side of the glass which is indicative of something or other… who knows, I’m not a physicist. 7/10.

S: Aroma is a tasty mix of grapefruit and orange starburst – this is borderline IPA territory given the intensity of aroma, however the proof, as they say, is in the drinking of the APA. Other than that overt candy aroma there’s not much else, I suspect this will be more on the hop end of town with a dash of sweetness for good measure [like every other APA you’ve ever drunk Doc *slow clap*]. If I have one criticism – it’s a bit too narrow in dimension here. 7/10.

T: Tart and bitter grapefruit hits right off the bat, orange starburst comes in, followed by a grainy note and tangerine, finishes with a touch of candy and a light herbal bitterness. Apart from that grainy note this is a superlative APA. The balance between bitter/sweet is good. The aftertaste leans more and more towards the bitter side as you go. A bit one note with a citric slant, but I reckon I would go another (if someone offered it to me… not paid of course). 7/10.

M: Mid to light, slight bit watery, but then it is an APA – doesn’t need a great deal of body to be drinkable. Medium carbonation, a few burps here and there. 6/10.

D: The aftertaste is more annoying than anything else with this brew – not sure if it’s grapefruit related, but Elvis Juice (still the best grapefruit-infused beer I’ve encountered) doesn’t have a problem with an overly bitter aftertaste – so I’m guessing it’s hop related. Apart from that, and yeah the lack of diversity in flavour, this is a decent enough APA, however it’s nothing to write home about… even though I wrote an entire review about it… irony: not lost on me. 7/10.

Food match: A Vietnamese Cá Kho Tộ would pair well with this.

Standard

Leave a Reply

