Birra Baladin Wayan

Total Score: 5.8/10 Pear1BrownSugar1GreenApple1Tulipglass1

Birra Baladin Wayan is next in my gifted mixed 5 [again read my review of Super Bitter for disclosure ‘n stuff] as #4… of course the only logical question before reviewing this beer: is this brew in anyway endorsed by the Wayans brothers? And if so which brother? If it’s Shawn or Marlon, no thanks, but if it’s Damon then I say: Mo’ Money! This Wayan is listed as a Saison, it should be interesting to see where Birra Baladin go with this – Nazionale was different and fantastic and the last one I had: Isaac was classic to the style of Witbier, so they can go either atypical or archetypal these Italian craft brewers (Birra Del Borgo don’t even try to ascribe to a style – unless that style is “freestyle”).

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Cloudy AF with a heap of yeast clumps floating around – this is going to get yeastie (boys!). Colour of the body is an orangey-brown due to all that yeasty goodness. Head is almost non-existent, a thin white ring inside the glass. 6/10.

S: Big juicy ripe pear, musty/almost dirty yeast, apple sauce… yes apple sauce, you think I just make this shit up for fun? [yeah, well, sometimes]. Hard to get past all these esters and yeast characters – it’s a bit of a fruit stew here, not necessarily in a bad way, but it’s not a very clean aroma either. 6/10.

T: Yeah this one sat in the car for too long and refermented – it’s nothing like what anyone else has written about it, all I’m getting is a weird pear and apple pie with an overbearing musty yeast character. Shame, because so far the Birra Baladins have been pretty tasty. That said it’s not all bad – just a bit amiss. Finish is balanced between light medicinal bitterness, sweet pear, earthy/spicy yeast. Aftertaste isn’t great, tastes like I licked the dust off a dusty tome… umm, I’m guessing because I haven’t actually tried that… 6/10.

M: Mid to light bodied, thin with a couple burps here and there from the carbonation. 6/10.

D: Bit of a shame with this one as I love a good Saison. I did keep this in my beer cellar (aka kitchen cupboard) not sure when or how the secondary fermentation took place but it definitely would have transformed the flavour of this beer big time – as I got to the bottom of the glass it started to look like the trub at the bottom of my homebrew bottles… did I drink it? Yeah, yeast is full of nutrients/protein, never fear the yeast (or the reaper for that matter). 5/10.

Food match: I feel like eating blue oysters now for some reason.

Standard

Leave a Reply

