KAIJU! Beer Krush Tropical Pale

Total Score: 8.4/10 Pineapple1PapayaMango1HopFlower1Nonicpint1

I’m somewhat a fan of KAIJU!: I love their no-holds-barred style of brewing. A couple years ago I met one of the brewers Nat, he mentioned I should try out his Behemoth. I asked him why it was $20/500ml bottle, Nat replied: “we make expensive beers”. He then proceeded to rattle off how many hop cones went into each batch… needless to say it was: a great many. His sales pitch worked because I bought a bottle, took it home and reviewed it. Behemoth still stands today as one of my favourite Black IPAs. Krush appears to be an interesting proposition as the lowest ABV brew that KAIJU! have made at 4.7%… doubtless they’ll still have packed it with quality hops, here’s hop-ing anyway!

Poured from a 375ml can into a nonic pint.

A: Great colour – a hazed pineapple yellow (pineapples are in my head – thanks to the can label and Glass Animals playing in the background) body. Head presents a nice white cappuccino foam that settles to half a centimetre. Some lacing on the side of the glass, très bien! 8/10.

S: Pineapple, papaya and stone fruit hops from the off… hmmm, reminds me of Pirate Life Pale Ale’s aroma – plenty of juicy hops assailing my olfactory senses like golden memories. Only major difference being the malt base in this is lighter and more dry cracker in scent. Well I’m certainly looking forward to this one! 9/10.

T: Goes down easy… a bit too easy… in a good way (for KAIJU!) – I could quite happily guzzle this all night, perhaps it’s what Nat and Callum intended when they brewed this, those brilliant scallywags. Flavour profile is same as above: Pineapple, papaya, stone fruit, dry cracker, with a nice light green/fresh hop bitterness. Balance is spot on for a nice APA, perhaps a teensy bit underwhelming with the flavour – feels like a 5% version of this would be perfect. 8/10.

M: Mid to light bodied, decent hop oils swimming around on the palate, and a fairly smooth/dense carbonation. 8/10.

D: Side by side with Pirate Life Pale Ale and it’s hard to pick which one I like more – as it happens I had a can of Pirate Life which I tried after this and I feel KAIJU! Krush is slightly better because it is a touch more on the tropical side and I do have a preference for tropical flavoured hops… though it could just be the label playing tricks with my mind – excellent marketing from KAIJU! it must be said. Overall I’m keen to crush a few more of these, cheers Nat & Callum! 9/10.

Food match: This is one for, yep you guessed it: Thai or Malaysian.

Standard

Leave a Reply

