Feral War Hog

Total Score: 8.95/10 Passionfruit1Orange1CutGrass1Tulipglass1

Well this is one War Hog that I’ve been hunting down for years! Feral, who are still one of my favourite Aussie brewers (despite me having the distinct impression that Hop Hog doesn’t taste as good as it used to), used to market this Double IPA as “Feral Cat” when it made its way to venues across the country. Then about a year and a half ago Transit Bar in Canberra had a Feral tap takeover – War Hog was there, however I was working that night and by the time I made it there it was all gone *sniff*. Finally Feral did good and got around to canning this delightful (I imagine) nectar. Here goes: sumptin spesh! [along with a speech impediment]

Poured from a 375ml can into a Duvel tulip.

A: Hazed pale golden body with a 1 centimetre white sea foam head which slowly subsides to a thin lace blanket. Doesn’t leave anything scrawled on the side of the glass – not exciting to look at for a DIPA. 6/10.

S: Quite fresh, similar to the Holgate Road Trip I just reviewed, with more passionfruit upfront, grassy/green and pineapple hops complete a top notch Double IPA aroma. There’s a slight candied orange/Starburst character there as well… looking forward to this one! 9/10.

T: Interesting – hits like a glass of orange & passionfruit juice straight up, with grassy green notes in the finish. It’s well balanced too – perhaps leaning towards bitter over sweet – but it’s much better than the last 3-4 IPAs I reviewed. Hint of pineapple in there as well? Maybe a whisper. This is one DIPA that drinks far too easily! Yep, right up there with Hop Hog (no surprises there). 9/10.

M: Medium bodied, hop oils adding slickness, with a thin but dense carbonation. 8/10.

D: Hard to even tell if I’m drinking a glass of juice or a beer here – this is again top-shelf stuff from Feral – I would even go so far as to say that this is up there with stuff produced in the US by the best, although it definitely falls on the east coast side of that continent given its juice-like character. If you get a chance to try this brew my advice is: Please call me and let me know where you got it so I can buy what’s left because this is a real cracker of a DIPA [I love me a DIPA!], my number is: Klondike 53226 [“Call Dr. Plow, that’s my name, that name again is Dr. Plow”]. Feral if you’re reading/watching: Please make War Hog a regular release! 10/10.

Food match: Yeah once again you can’t go past Thai or Vietnamese for a brew of this character.

Standard

Leave a Reply

