Anderson Valley Briney Melon Gose

Total Score: 7.7/10 Watermelon1Lemon1GreenMelon1Tulipglass1

Walked into a local I hadn’t been to in a while and found they had some awesome Anderson Valley brews on their shelf, I guess that’s how it Gose these days [yeah I went there!] finding great brews is getting easier and easier. This one drew my eye straight away being a Gose with watermelon – I love watermelon, it’s probably my favourite fruit… yeah, let’s lock it in: Doc’s favourite fruit = watermelon! Such a clever mix too, salt and watermelon, it’s like a Greek feta and watermelon salad (one of my fortes). So this was an instabuy. Hopefully that melon comes through prominently, it won’t work for me if it’s too subtle.

Poured from a 355ml can into a Duvel tulip.

A: Hazed pale golden body with a bold white 1 centimetre cappuccino foam head that slowly withers down to a thin lace blanket. Looks good as far as Goses go… tongue twister there. 8/10.

S: Sea salt with an unidentified sourness… it’s somewhere neutral in the cherry/apple/melon spectrum. As with all the Anderson Valley beers there is an overtone of fresh clean mountain water… though that could be a subliminal picture planted in my mind by the bottle/can label (bear with dear horns drinking out of a mountain stream). 7/10.

T: BAM! This is easily the sourest Gose I’ve laid my tongue on. It hits right off with a sour melon note, follows through with sea salt, lemon and bitter melon finish. Really quite a tart beverage this one – up there with Lindemans Kriek Cuvée René (though not quite as sour). Too tart? For me a little, but you might have been raised sucking on sour watermelon Warheads – I was always the go-to for hot warheads. 8/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with a thin but dense carbonation… no complaints here. 7/10.

D: Well this is definitely the least Eno tasting Gose I’ve had yet. Favourite Gose so far? That honour still goes to Bacchus Peanut Brittle Gose… however this is a close second along with HopDog’s Gose & The Pussycats. Overall I did end up enjoying this Gose though. Hmmm, this gets real briney as it warms… makes me think of oysters with sea salt and lemon juice… huh, that’s a good suggestion for below. 8/10.

Food match: Oysters with sea salt and lemon juice… did you try it yeah? Told ya it was a good suggestion!

Standard

Leave a Reply

