Bacchus Brewing Ferrari Rocher

Total Score: 8.1/10 Nut1Chocolate1Caramel1Tulipglass1

It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed a Bacchus, and TBH my fridge shelf is heaving under the weight of multiple Bacchus delights, so guess what? Two Bacchus beers tonight! And I even went with a theme: Chocolate beers. So first up is a choc/hazelnut brew cheekily named Ferrari Rocher. Now I’m a big fan of the choc/hazelnut (though I do hate when shops add hazelnuts to bags of savory mixed nuts – hazelnuts are dessert nuts dammit!). Mini rant concluded – I’m really looking forward to this brew, and especially the next one. Ross Kenrick’s mad scientist attitude to brewing has fast won me over and now I get excited every time I see a new Bacchus at my local Black Sheep bottle shop, cheers to Ross!

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Cloudy/hazed/hard to tell deep russet brown with a thin beige lace ring. As previously noted anything above 6% ABV will generally present with a thin head so nothing wrong with that… the aroma is incredibly enticing even from 40 centimetres away though, quick to the ‘S’ me! 7/10.

S: Intriguingly intense caramel/chocolate and hazelnut aroma! Très sucré, quite delightful for a dessert beer! Once again, like the Snickers Ale, you know right off the bat that this is going to be a heady and sweet dessert experience. That said I was expecting more of a Nutella slant and this is far too caramelly for that. 8/10.

T: Nice! Similar to La Sirène’s Praline (which is my favourite chocolate beer yet) for all the right reasons: Hazelnuts, milk chocolate, cocoa powder, caramelised sugar and cacao nib bitterness in the finish. Not quite as diverse in flavour as Praline and less “beery” as Ferrari Rocher comes off more as a choc/hazelnut liquor more than a beer… although that cacao nib bitterness comes through in the aftertaste as well. It’s a tough choice between this and Praline, though Praline for me edges it. 9/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with a slight fizzy carbonation… still feels a shade thin than one would expect given the ABV. 7/10.

D: Overall another tasty dessert beer from Bacchus with the same foibles I’ve found in most of their beers (non-tap): Body thinness. This aside Bacchus have again found an interesting concept (even if La Sirène probably thought of it before them) and made it work. Although it doesn’t unseat Snickers as my favourite Bacchus brew I have a feeling the next one will. 7/10.

Food match: Take a box of Ferrero Rochers, a jar of Nutella and a Bacio. Then smear it all over your body and lick it off whilst drinking this.

Standard

Leave a Reply

