Murray’s The Kaiser Oktoberfest

Total Score: 7.2/10 Bread1Honeycomb1Caramel1Stein1

While I’m on a roll with Australian brewed German beer styles it would be impossible (or even unwise) to pass up on Murray’s The Kaiser Oktoberfest, a Märzen I sampled previously but wished I had taken notes – because it was a honey-oat lovefest of a brew. Let’s face it, Murray’s hasn’t impressed me much lately, at least their Thunderbolt IPA was a bit of a meh for me, so I was only too keen to get my hands on this again so I could big it up for Murray’s: “Cheer up Murray, don’t let it get you down, pick yourself up off the ground, it’s gonna be alright”… “Some people don’t return your calls, they don’t return your calls, people will call you ginger balls, They’ll call you ginger balls”… Cheer up Murray!

Poured from tap into a 945ml Squealer then a stein.

A: Hazed rich rust-tinged amber body with a 1 centimetre creamy off-white head in top. Looks a teensy bit flat, but thems the breaks when you’re drinking from a Squealer. As far as colours go with Märzens my rule of thumb is: The darker the better – to a point (which is rust/brownish). 7/10.

S: Porridge and honey – I already gave that away in my preamble – there is a distinct breadiness to this brew along with the oats/honey… essentially this beer reminds me of a honeyed version of a Doppelbock, which is a step up from a Märzen in breadiness and ABV, and at 5.6% ABV this Murray’s brew is delightfully heady in aroma. Second whiff reveals a toffee/Diacetyl note – which is perfectly acceptable in this style. 8/10.

T: Sweet honey/toffee/oat and bread notes mingle throughout leading towards a finish that evens out the sweetness a little with a slight dry character. Coppery note in there as well, a little distracting but overall flavours are tasty. Aftertaste adds a hint of herbal bitterness. 7/10.

M: Medium bodied and “oh-no!” rather flat… It wasn’t an easy pour from where I obtained this and I think the flatness of the carbonation may have been an unfortunate bystander in the pouring to the Squealer, oh well. 5/10.

D: This was much better when I first had it, but then flat beers can be a tad deflating (here have a pun!). However it didn’t take the shine off as much as expected so that’s a good sign. If Murray’s get around to bottling this for Oktoberfest next year I’ll definitely get my grubby hands on it… or I’ll wash my hands beforehand and I’ll get my clean hands on it, either way = win! 8/10.

Food match: Pretzels: Bavarian style!

Standard

Leave a Reply

