Moo Brew Dark Ale

Total Score: 7.1/10 Caramel1Chocolate1BrownSugar1Nonicpint1

Another free sample from a rep for me to review – living the high life brah! This time from Moo Brew – look I wasn’t a fan of their Belgo, and their Hefeweizen that I previously tried had some funky problems going on (I’ve since had a sip of that one during a tasting and it was a perfectly fine Australian Hefe, aka not as good as a German one). Anyway fresh start for Moo Brew, as it is for any brewer when I try their new beers – I save my judgements for the column labelled ‘T’. So here goes with their Dark Ale (wish me luck or something else; say I win a million in a lotto I never entered, that would be nice, and interesting, yeah wish me that instead).

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a nonic pint.

A: Almost opaque mahogany body with a thin half centimetre khaki head that is leaving some gnarly lace on the inside of the glass. Looks good, nice and dark without being oppressive. Head fades away to a wafer thin blanket. 7/10.

S: Brown sugar and thick molasses upfront pounding the nose with sweetness – which is all fine with me. Hint of milk chocolate… kinda reminds me of the molasses chew in the Whitman’s Sampler box – it’s a molasses/chocolate/malt extract bonanza (for better or worse). 8/10.

T: Yep, just as expected with brown sugar/molasses/chocolate/malt extract flavours coming through… but wait! What’s this?! A note of roasted coffee towards the finish: which is a light earthy and coffee bitter riposte. Not bad, flavours could use a wee bit of amping – and I am drinking this close to room temp too. The flavours are actually quite well placed, but dare I say it? This needs more sweetness and heft. Aside from that this is the best Moo Brew I’ve reviewed yet. 7/10.

M: Mid to light bodied, more body would be nice as noted above, and a slightly gassy carbonation. 6/10.

D: I could easily imagine this as a 6.5% ABV knock out Dark Ale – one that is big, chewy and almost as sweet as a bottle of Leffe (pick any Leffe – they’re all sugar bombs). However what we have here is a lighter – wistful Dark Ale that doesn’t do a great deal to excite, or disappoint, this now long in tooth craft beer drinker [I’ve seen things and tasted stuff man!]. That said I can see this going down well with punters, and it’s probably a great deal fuller on tap, as all beers tend to be, so if I was in a pub I might give this another look in one day. 7/10.

Food match: *gone off to buy a Whitman’s Sampler box as that shit is G*

Standard

Leave a Reply

