Mornington Peninsula #tinnage007 Mosaic IPA

Total Score: 6.75/10 Orange1Peach1Caramel1Nonicpint1

Well the next #tinnage is upon us and it’s 007 [Mister Bond!]. Also it’s a single hop showcase of my favourite hop: Mosaic. I love Mosaic hops so much that when I homebrewed (an unremittent disaster I can assure you!) my own dry-hopped IPA I went with Mosaic hops alone – I ended up with tinned peaches, mangoes and a grassy herbal note in my (decidedly average) IPA and if anyone can pull off a single hop Mosaic IPA it should be Mornington… although my first choice to brew this would definitely have been Pirate Life: F#&k their IPA rocks! In any case if this contains the above flavours and fresh from the can hops I will be on cloud 9.

Poured from a 330ml can into a nonic pint.

A: Presents with that classic American IPA pea-soup cloudy amber body and a wispy cream-coloured head that leaves nice lacing around the glass. Looks a real treat for what I would consider to be (these days at least) on the lower ABV scale of an IPA at 5.9%. 8/10.

S: Immediately peachy on the nose, hints of juicy fruit gum as well, with a solid enough caramel malt base, which TBH makes it smell overly sweet but we’ll soon find out if bitterness comes to the fore. A second whiff reveals a touch of starburst orange in the background, wow for a 5.9% IPA this really has a saccharine-loaded aroma, I’m getting diabetes just sniffing this brew. 7/10.

T: Orangey front palate leads on to a slight peachy/juicy fruit/caramel malt middle and finishes with an astringently bitter note. I get what others may say about this brew being lacklustre but this reminds me of some decent East Coast IPAs I’ve had in the past… Smuttynose Finestkind? Yeah, that one. Bitterness in the aftertaste wreaks your palate a bit though – that ain’t good. 7/10.

M: Mid to light bodied, a touch watery for the style, with a thin but dense carbonation – again needs work here. 6/10.

D: This is the beer that I hate to hate, because I can see where Mornington have done so well, but also where the mistakes have been made. Certainly the aftertaste is vexing… however the flavours are there… but then it’s a bit thin and watery… this is a tough call however this may rival #tinnage003 Why So Cereal? as the worst #tinnage release… it’s a close one… also note one of my biggest critiques of Why So Cereal?: “the hops are there but in comparison to the aroma all they really add here is singular bitterness”… yep, same here. 6/10.

Food match: Indonesian cuisine, say Nasi Goreng – make it spicy hot.

Standard

Leave a Reply

