Bacchus Brewing Peanut Brittle Gose

Total Score: 8.15/10 Nut1Coriander1Caramel1Tulipglass1

Looks like I’m officially on a Bacchus-bender™. This latest Bacchus has the honour of being the “Peoples Choice” winner GABS 2016 (The Great Australasian Beer SpecTAPular, aka Australia’s biggest beer festival). A good sign indeed as several previous Peoples Choice winners have been simply specTAPular (to recycle a tired pun), including: Yeastie Boys’ Gunnamatta IPA, La Sirene’s Belgian Praline Ale, and Bacchus’s own Raspberry and White Chocolate Pilsner. If those beers are any indicator Peanut Brittle Gose is going to be a real treat.

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Presents a nice hazed mahogany body with a thin beige head that reduces to absolutely nothing. No head seems to be a norm with Goses so I’m not panicking yet. As far as being aesthetically pleasing I really like the colour of the body – it reminds me of my apartment – which smells of rich mahogany. 8/10.

S: Woah, this glass has a cacophony of scents going on; peanuts, the toffee you find on toffee apples, jersey caramels, hint of plain yoghurt, sea salt, and a touch of coriander seed. It’s one busy and slightly discordant aroma – I hope it doesn’t come across like that in the flavour. 7/10.

T: Sheeeeeit! It’s exactly what you thought you would get in a combination of peanut brittle with Gose flavours. It begins with a jersey caramel, toffee, butterscotch and peanut sweetness upfront, which is almost immediately cut through by lactobacillus and coriander with a hint of salt and a slightly sour finish. Again like every Gose I’ve ever had there is a hint of that refreshing lemon drink known as ‘Eno’, which I cannot for the life of me work out why that flavour crops up in EVERY Gose I’ve had… In any case I have a weakness for peanut brittle and the aftertaste of this brew is like a beery version of that, yum! 9/10.

M: Again like all the Goses I’ve had this has a body that feels heavier than you would expect given the ABV, with a carbonation that feels soft but gives you gassy burps at the same time. 7/10.

D: As a fan of peanut brittle [my teeth aren’t for obvious reasons] I was both impressed with this brew, but also left wanting a little bit RE: sweetness – the way the lactobacillus almost immediately kills the peanut/toffee sweetness… I feel that some of the sweetness needs to stick around. Anyhow, I’m being picky now – this is my favourite Gose to date. 8/10.

Food match: I’m going to go left-field and say Vietnamese Bun Bo Xao (beef salad).

Standard

Leave a Reply

