BrewCult Gingerbread Maniac

Total Score: 6.85/10 Biscuit1Coffee1BrownSugar1Nonicpint1

Well, well, well, if it isn’t Hendo’s latest (not really) experimental limited release: Gingerbread Maniac. I’m not the hugest gingerbread fan, which is why it has taken me so long to get around to reviewing this brew that I’ve seen on shop shelves since sometime in July. However I don’t mind BrewCult – one man brewing-machine Hendo has bought out a few corkers, specifically the tastiest beer I’ve ever had that contains balsamic vinegar: Acid Freaks… that said, it’s the only beer I know of that contains balsamic vinegar… ANYWAY, my point still stands: Acid Freaks = tasty shit! BrewCult = decent brewer.

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a nonic pint.

A: Deep black/brown chocolate body with a thin tan head that contains an odd mixture of tiny/big bubbles… quite a bit of odd carbonation action going on in the glass, not really sure what that is indicative of… oh well, as long as it tastes good I don’t care much. 6/10.

S: Rich biscuity gingerbread aroma coming through with dark fruits and red coffee cherry and a truckload of brown sugar. Smells quite sweet, almost sickly so, but it’s as advertised so I can’t complain to my dentist about it when I get my next root canal [damn I was looking forward to complaining to my dentist too]. 8/10.

T: Yep, it sure is sweet. Kinda tastes like a Frankensteinian mix between a ginger beer soft drink and a Stout. It’s got the above flavours coming through as hints, with an overbearing ginger beer sugary taste and slight espresso bitterness. It’s not bad but it’s definitely missing something or some “body” [har-har Doc!]. 7/10.

M: With that witty pun we reach the mouthfeel evaluation – which IMO is too thin and Gingerbread Maniac is flatter than a Martian pancake (which are known for their extreme flatness… I don’t know, it’s something to do with the gravity on Mars, those kooky Martians!). 4/10.

D: Apart from the non-existent carbonation this is an alright dessert beer, it’s definitely a dessert beer too, don’t drink this on a hot summers day while riding a tricycle – you will probably spill most of it on the pavement. Feedback for Hendo? This needs oats… lots of oats… an OTT amount of oats… and nitro, now we’re on to something! If Hendo updated the recipe thusly I would totally be down for that – and I don’t even like gingerbread, but I could see this becoming a real winner if those things happened. Anyway, I digest now. 7/10.

Food match: Some sort of dessert, possibly a bready substance with ginger added.

Standard

Leave a Reply

