Bacchus Brewing After Dinner Stout

Total Score: 7.55/10 mint1Chocolate1Biscuit1Tulipglass1

I’m going to make this a quick preamble because I’m eager to crack open this bottle: Bacchus rock! That is all. Seriously though – if you love your experimental craft beers and you haven’t tried a Bacchus, then you might need to change that. Thankfully Bacchus brews are now being distro’d across this fine land of ‘Stralia, so get your mitts on them. Head Brewer Ross Kenrick is Australia’s own Mikkel Borg Bjergsø (aka Mikkeller): Nothing is off the table for Ross – if you could brew a beer with pumpkin (an absurd idea!) Ross would give it a shot. Anyway, so much for the short preamble, my preamble once again became a ramble, oh well it’s my blog dammit!

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Presents with a black/dark brown body and a half centimetre mocha head. Sooo practically all Stouts look awesome to me, I find it can be hard to score their appearance (unlike most Lagers) so I generally look for head formation flaws: After Dinner Stout doesn’t have many… sooo: 7/10.

S: Another “you get what it says on the tin” beer – Dark chocolate, mint, biscuit and a gentle milky sweetness that playfully lingers on – it’s another winner from Bacchus with aroma. Ross is killing it! [in a good way] 9/10.

T: Minty… quite minty… perhaps a bit too minty… you see the thing about mint is – you don’t need much of it to have a huge impact. It’s like the king of homeopathy herbs: Only a tiny bit goes a long way. What I’m trying to get at is “yes” we have chocolate (dark and milk) and biscuit, etc… however the aftertaste is quite minty. My breath feels fresh and it shouldn’t [or should it?]. Just a touch less mint in future iterations I reckon. Still it’s quite tasty. 8/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with a minty… err, mid to light carbonation. For an Oatmeal Stout it needs more body – see Founders Breakfast Stout for a good example of this. 6/10.

D: The mint really killed it for me by the time I reached the bottom of the glass – it felt more and more amplified as I drank this. Shame as it really did start out so well, but [moral to story] you should never underestimate mint: It’s a powerful flavour force. A flapowerfulvourforce if you will… nope? Oh well, there’s no pleasing you. Next up I’ve got a Timmy Ho’s Double Double from Bacchus sitting in my fridge. It’s a “Double-Double” (double cream, double sugar) Coffee Milk Stout… I’m looking forward to that one. 6/10.

Food match: After dinner mints, duh.

Standard

Leave a Reply

