Bacchus Brewing Snickers Chocolate Ale

Total Score: 8.4/10 Chocolate1Nut1Caramel1Nonicpint1

Whilst this is the first beer I’m reviewing from Capalaba based Bacchus, it’s not the first beer of theirs I’ve tried, I’ve happily gorged myself on: Maple Coffee Stout, Lamington Dark Ale, a Scotch Ale I forget the name of, and their award winning White Chocolate Raspberry Pilsner – however most of those were consumed before I begin reviewing beers you see (and I didn’t keep any notes dagnabbit!). If I did I would have praised their beers for being “wildly inventive – an Aussie version of Mikkeller if you will”. This is about to change as I’m finally going review Bacchus Snickers Chocolate Ale, and Snickers being my 2nd favourite chocolate bar of all time (after Twix, duh!) I think this Bacchus and I will get along just fine.

Poured from a 500ml bottle into nonic pint.

A: Ruddy brown, slightly hazed complexion with a fulsome 1 centimetre Ecru head that slowly recedes to a thin layer of goodness. Looks alright hey, not spectacular but moreish… and the smell wafting off it is incredible, but I’m jumping the gun [again!]. 7/10.

S: Chocolate: Shedloads of it. I can’t get over how chocolatey this beer is, I want to lie in a bath tub full of this goodness. Hints of peanut and salted caramel make a pop in but damn, DAMN that chocolate! 9/10.

T: Bacchus just nails it. Nails. It. This is exactly what a Snickers would taste like if you could melt it down and ferment it in a vat for 3 weeks. It’s got chocolate (in spades), caramel, a hint of salt, peanuts and the finish is a slight earthy bitterness to keep the almost rampant sweetness in check. Oh yeah – it’s pretty sweet too, but it’s a beer done in the style of a chocolate bar, FFS what did you expect?! 9/10.

M: Mouthfeel once again is the weakest link in the experience: Medium with a slightly sharp carbonation – I’m splitting hairs here but if it had the body of a Founders brew I would be in some sort of gooey Snickers heaven. 6/10.

D: This beer is due to the fervently unchecked imagination of one Mr. Ross Kendrick, and this flight of fancy into a world where a popular candy bar becomes a delicious alcoholic beverage has paid off in my books. It’s not all roses though – although perfect as a dessert beer it’s a bit on the sweet side meaning a night of hard Snickers beer devouring is off the cards for a pre-pre-diabetic like me. Also: MOAR body! Those niggles aside this brew is one Snickery delight. 8/10.

Food match: Need I mention Snickers? OK, yeah we got that already. How about a chargrilled beef steak with a mole negro sauce and grilled vegies? Sweet!

Standard

Leave a Reply

