Newstead Brewing The Outpost American Stout

Total Score: 8/10 Earth1Coriander1Coffee1Nonicpint1

So Newstead are one of those brewers who for me float around in the “just above average” region of craft beer, I mean compared to their almost next door neighbours Green Beacon they don’t really epitomise excellence in craft brewing for Australia. That all changed for me with this limited release American Stout they call ‘The Outpost’. I almost passed up on this brew but on a whim I bought a 4-pack, and I can tell you one thing: I’ll be going back to my local Blacksheep bottleshop for more.

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a nonic pint.

A: Almost obsidian hazed (I think?) deep brown body with a 1 cm tan cappuccino foam head on top. As the head recedes it leaves a nice sticky lace inside the glass – we all know what that means? Proteins! Yay! Par for course as far as non-nitroed Stouts go. 8/10.

S: Upfront it has that classic Aussie earthy note that I find in so many top-shelf Australian craft brews – it’s like the ground the hops grew in, I love that aroma! Aside from that I’m getting roasted coffee bean, hints of dark chocolate, with a light citrus/stone fruit combo towards the back – it’s sort of like a Cascadian Dark Ale with the emphasis on the roasted rather than hoppy characters. 8/10.

T: Earthy front palate leads on to a roasted malt sweetness, then a slight coffee/dark chocolate bitterness which finishes with citric/herbal hop notes. Aftertaste, and indeed burps, add a most welcome and intriguing green herbal earthy tone to the overall flavour. So to recap: Earthy, herbal, green [which is a colour not a flavour Doc] roasted coffee/malt/dark chocolate is the well-devised scheme of this brew and it’s really hard to fault it here. 8/10.

M: Medium bodied with a light almost flat carbonation – more body would normally be found in an actual US-brewed American Stout. 6/10.

D: This is one tasty brew from Newstead, who really should add this to their core range because, you know: I said so. Apart from my wants and desires I find this to be easily Newstead’s most self-assured beer – although I admit I haven’t tried all of their brews yet, but this American Stout is delightful – a feast for the senses… damn that sounded like some grade ‘A’ waffle, f@*k it – it stays in! Keep up the good wor… no wait – brew more beers like this Newstead! 9/10.

Food match: I’m going to go left-field as say a pan-seared Barramundi with garlic tiger prawns (in American: Shrimp) and a mango salad, BAM!

Standard

Leave a Reply

