Brooklyn Lager

Total Score: 7.15/10 Lemon1Peach1Biscuit1Stein1

Holy Cadillac-meringue-foot! It’s really been 10 whole days since I did a list of my top 100 beers (obtainable) and 20 whole days since my last beer review. Worry not… no really, stop worrying – you’re going to give yourself an aneurysm… because the wait is finally over and those cats at Brooklyn have a Lager that has stared me down one too many times for me to miss it: Brooklyn Lager – A prohibition-style Vienna Lager in the vein (or Wien) of brews like Sam Adams Boston Lager – because that’s what they drank back in them old days.

Poured from a 355ml bottle into a stein.

A: Wow it’s been such a long time since I’ve described a beer… ummm, it’s cloudy and amberish with a touch of caramel in the body… it has a head (duh!) thin and beige-tinged… looks tasty hey – like a golden sunset of roasted barley and caramel dreams [Ooo, poetic, nice one me!]. 8/10.

S: Right off the nose there’s some lemony notes, sorta like the smell of a KFC wet wipe. Hints, nay – very large suggestions of: Caramel, toasty barley and biscuit characters mingle about in the background hosting their very own “who pitched the yeast” mystery party. It’s an Ale-like Lager, as that Vienna lot tend to be, with plenty to keep this Ale-drinker happy. 7/10.

T: Much like several of Brooklyn’s brews (I won’t name names – you’ll just have to look up my reviews) it starts off dry and finishes dry. The flavour betwixt is an alright combination of lemon, floral potpourri hops, some peach [WTF did that come from???], toasted biscuit malts, and did I mention it’s dry? Yes, ok, I just bring it up because some of Brooklyn’s brews give Japanese Lagers a run for their sand*. In any case a bit of malty sweetness would not have gone astray here. 7/10.

M: Medium bodied, nice bit of heft to it, with an almost flat but creamy carbonation. 8/10.

D: It’s a tough one because I’m pretty sure if I had Sam Adam’s for the first time the score I gave it wouldn’t be so high (I was a bit more generous in those days). Still Sam Adam’s, which is really the basis of comparison here style-wise, beats Brooklyn because of my main Brooklyn complaint: Too dry – sweet is better when it comes to a Vienna Lager IMO. 7/10.

Food match: Cheese… just don’t have a water cracker: Your brain might implode.

*Get it – cause sand is dry… yeah I really pulled out my thesaurus on that one.

Standard

Leave a Reply

