Sierra Nevada Otra Vez Gose

Total Score: 6.7/10 Grapefruit1Lemon1Coriander1Tulipglass1

Lately Sierra Nevada have been bringing out beers that I cannot stop myself buying due to pure intrigue dammit! This Gose is no different – made with prickly pear cactus and grapefruit – how the hell can they expect me to pass up on such interesting adjuncts?! Plus this will be my very first taste of an American Gose – a style I’ve only had 2 of (both Australian versions). Both of which tasted like that refreshing stomach antacid drink: Eno. Time to crack out the old Duvel tulip then, yee-haw! [this is usually the time when I wave my fancy ten gallon hat over my head like Major TJ “King” Kong riding an atom bomb].

Poured from a 355ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Cloudy pale straw body – FYI I made sure to rouse as much yeast out of the bottle as I could during the pour (yeast = extra goodness). Head is pure white and, as is common in my short Gose experience, practically non-existent. 8/10.

S: Something intriguingly exotic and floral mixed in with the citric aroma of grapefruit which I can only ascribe to prickly pear cactus (as I’ve never had prickly pear cactus before). Also noted is a hint of lemon… salt is not detected but then again salt isn’t an easy thing to sniff out. Aroma is decent given the 4.5% almost mid-strength ABV. 8/10.

T: Funky… green, aloe vera, and exotic note from prickly pear. At first my taste buds were like “WTF is this Doc?!” but then they accustomed to the weird flavour mix, sort of a Mexican margarita-like sour weirdness, and moved on. Salt makes a slight appearance but doesn’t really hang around for long. Plenty of tang from the grapefruit and cactus makes this a dichotomy between sour/salty rather than the usual sweet/bitter pairing – with a definite slant towards sour. 6/10.

M: Crisp, mid to light bodied with a medium carbonation – suits the style. 8/10.

D: This one turned out to be a bit too odd, if that’s a thing that is possible with beers… [yes I think that’s a thing]. I wanted to like this more, perhaps due to some sort of brand loyalty that I have towards SN, even though outwardly I don’t support any brand, but it just did not tick enough boxes for me and the balance wasn’t right. At least for the first time I’ve found a Gose that doesn’t taste like Eno… but then again I quite like Eno. The flavour balance needed something else sweet or bitter as the sour/salt pairing was not working. A hit and miss from the mighty SN then. 6/10.

Food match: I’m thinking seafood and Mexican, or Mexican seafood, either or.

Standard

Leave a Reply

