BrewCult Acid Freaks Balsamic Baltic Porter

Total Score: 8.45/10 DarkFruits1BrownSugar1RedWine1Tulipglass1

Recently had this at a new, and might I add: pretty awesome, little craft beer bar called “Saccharomyces Beer Cafe” in South Brisbane. First off they have 10 taps of various craft beers carefully curated to provide something for everyone’s tastes, including my what some might say peculiar liking of dark beers in summer. Secondly they have pinball. You need to check it out. Nuff said. Anyway the beer – I’ve always liked BrewCult but felt they could sometimes use a bit more umpf. In that respect I was pleasantly surprised by this rather big and tasty Baltic Porter including Balsamic vinegar.

Poured from tap into a fancy Schooner-sized brandy snifter.

A: Presents with a hazy, almost opaque, cola-coloured body, and a nice off-white lace ring – which for a beer at 7.5% ABV is about as good as it usually gets. Personally I quite fancied the colour of the body, it looks exactly as you would imagine a beer/balsamic mix would turn out. 9/10.

S: Very prominent balsamic vinegar note upfront followed by dark fruits and brown sugar. Spot on aroma for a Baltic Porter (dark fruit and brown sugar) with the balsamic providing the acidity you would get from a classic Baltic Porter stale ale addition (as some were known to be mixed with). 9/10.

T: Flavours noted as above with a nice interplay between sweet/sour/bitter flavours – the balance is top-notch (with bitterness slightly lacking and sour a touch stronger). The balsamic is not as bold as noticed in the aroma but is nonetheless decent. Aftertaste is lightly sour and sweet. 8/10.

M: Medium bodied with a light carbonation. The texture of this beer is rather excellent – I do love body in my beers and this has, for an Australian beer at least, a good heft to it. 8/10.

D: Wow, this is the best BrewCult beer I’ve had to date – it’s full of flavour, it touches on 3 of the taste senses (whereas most beers only do sweet/bitter), I can imagine pairing this with so many different foods, and it’s a new take on the Baltic Porter style. Bravo BrewCult for creating this intriguing brew. Oh yeah, and balsamic + beer = mad genius. Would definitely get this on tap again if I ever see it, cheers! 9/10.

Food match: This beer and a traditional Italian buffalo cheese, prosciutto and rocket pizza would be freaking awesome.

Standard

6 thoughts on “BrewCult Acid Freaks Balsamic Baltic Porter

  1. I heard Brewcult re-released this one… I had it years ago and I didn’t much care for it, but I don’t think my palate was ready for it. I have a (very old) bottle in the back of the cupboard and I fear it’s probably not at its best. Too scared to try it as it will probably maintain a bad impression on this beer. But then again, I don’t want to throw out beer…

    Like

    • You might find the acidity of that bottle you’ve been keeping off the charts… or it has mellowed considerably – those are the two most likely options… only one way to find out though 😉

      Like

      • HA! So either it’s gone more acidic, less acidic, or maybe stayed the same? Hmm.. interesting analysis 😛 Yeah, I should just give it a go. It’s in the fridge. Will report back tomorrow when I drink it. FOR SCIENCE!

        Like

      • It definitely wont be the same, but before you drink it you should track down a new bottle and compare them – I would be intrigued to find out how different it is after a few years. I saw the new stuff today at my local so any reputable craft bottle-o should stock it.

        Like

      • I couldn’t track down a new bottle sadly… I’m in Melbourne and tried my usual places 😦 BUT the old bottle has actually mellowed really well. Still a hint of balsamic but it’s practically all gone. Now there’s more caramelised onions in the aroma with a bit of the vinegar bite in the taste. Without the vinegar, it’s actually still a really killer porter. Still pretty complex.

        Like

Leave a Reply

