Sierra Nevada Nooner Pilsner

Total Score: 9.05/10 Bread1Orange1Pear1Stein1

I always get a bit excited when I come across a Sierra Nevada beer I’ve yet to review, especially if it’s on the amber spectrum of colour – these guys don’t do dark beers nearly as well as their amber brews, so when I saw this 5.2% ABV Pilsner on a sunny Queensland afternoon my brain was instantly like “f__k yeah!”. Another thing it’s all about the little touches with SN, such as spelling ‘Pilsner’ correctly rather than the frankly stupid Anglicised ‘Pilsener’… SN know what they’re doing, you’re in safe hands now friend 😉

Poured from a 355ml bottle into a stein.

A: I’m already hooked: cloudy pale orange/yellow (sunburst, yeah sunburst) body with a nice dense white 1 cm head which impressively sticks around for a while. Last time I saw a Lager style this remarkable was 1983, and I was toddler at the time! 10/10 (deduct a point or 2 if you think Pilsners should be filtered, evil bastard).

S: Nice bready notes upfront with a bit of sweetness, brioche would probably sum it up the best, with some (very!) light pepper spice towards the back and a fruity hop character somewhere between orange, apple and banana (??? maybe I need to get my olfactory senses checked – should not be getting banana in a Pilsner). 8/10.

T: Those brioche tones upfront give way to a light smattering of fruity hops (more orange/apple/pear than anything) the teensiest-tiniest hit of pepper and a crisp/dry/bitter finish. The balance between everything is right on the money, although Lager drinkers will definitely find this beer too hoppy and American IPA drinkers would possibly find this beer too malty, but stuff their opinions I think it’s ace! 9/10.

M: Medium bodied with a nice creamy light carbonation – if your knowledge on German Pilsners is up to scratch then you will know this is spot on right for the style. 9/10.

D: Although it is not a perfect German Pilsner – too cloudy, hops not German as far as I can tell [let’s not be discriminatory towards non-German hops Doc, isn’t that something the Nazis did?], this is by far my new favourite Pilsner – the balance is just there and it’s tasty to boot! Yep, I’m getting this every summer from now until my unfortunate demise at the ripe old age of 153 (good genes + medical science = w00t!). 10/10.

Food match: Why did I have to think of German food, specifically: Schwenker mit bratkartoffeln und spätzle? Because this beer is so damn good, that’s why.

Standard

One thought on “Sierra Nevada Nooner Pilsner

  1. Pingback: Doc’s Top 100 Beers What Are Obtainable In Australia! | Craft Beer news & reviews

Leave a Reply

