Mornington Peninsula IPA

Total Score: 6.45/10 Earth1Nut1HopFlower1Tulipglass1

I was sure that I had tried most of the Mornington Peninsula brews until I realised I was actually thinking about Prickly Moses for some reason [and I was probably drunk]. Regardless the aptly, some would perhaps say: boringly named, IPA has recently found its way into my tiny new housemate’s fridge where I can only fit a maximum of 3 cans/bottles at a time lest I upset demons unbeknownst to God and man, which is coincidentally a good way to lose weight (I call it the “tiny fridge diet – Patent Pending”) so it’s time to add to my Mornington Peninsula repertoire with this: their “I-really-need-a-clever-pun-name-now” IPA.

Poured from an oddly 330ml (in Australia the land of 375ml) can into a Duvel tulip.

A: Presents a hazed brown-tinged amber body with a foamy 2 cm off-white head which scales back to 1 cm leaving some decent lacing on the side of the glass. Head bubbles are a bit OTT but the rest is good. 7/10.

S: Tropical fruit: Pineapple and papaya spring to mind, along with some chewy caramel centre and earthy notes towards the finish. A touch of dustiness comes across from the earthy hops and the whole aroma tends to take on a dirty/earthy/dusty vibe for better (or worse – I happen to not mind my beers and martinis dirty but it is an eclectic preference for others). 7/10.

T: Dirty/earthy/dusty with some nuttiness thrown in – almost a Brown Ale/IPA hybrid, however the tropical hops noted above take a real backseat here, and some punk-ass piney characters drop in towards the finish to give it that “hey it’s an IPA mate!” assertive bitterness. The whole balance is all over the shop like an angry rhesus macaque with a chainsaw causing insane amounts of property damage whilst upsetting the shopkeepers pregnant wife causing her to go into premature labour [phew that was one of my most elaborate metaphor capers yet!]. 6/10.

M: Almost medium bodied with a thin/light carbonation, nothing exciting. 6/10.

D: So the TL;DR (the take-away point if you will): If you want an IPA these days there are a plethora, no a MULTITUDE of excellent choices so I wouldn’t go out of my way for Mornington Peninsula’s IPA, though it is not bad by any stretch, it is by this experienced IPA drinkers opinion an average at best representation of the style. Also possibly the dusty-dirty-earthiest (as if dirt was literally scoped into the fermentation vats during brewing) IPAs on this planet – if that’s your kind of thing I say “Do it!”. 7/10.

Food match: Moss or lichen? Seriously a hearty stew with mushrooms will do.

Standard

Leave a Reply

