4 Pines Indian Summer Pale Ale

Total Score: 6.45/10 Peach1Lemon1PapayaMango1Nonicpint1

Well it’s that time of the week again and boy do I have a treat for you (i.e. me!): 2 x 4 Pines reviews! I know, I know, I said I was only doing one review a week, etcetera and so forth, but I thought that seeing as how I had two 4 Pines beers to review I would indulge myself. So first up we have 4 Pines Indian Summer Pale Ale [ha, ha, I get it, very funny 4 Pines] which is hopefully not one of those crappy “it’s summer so let’s water down our beer” affairs. Hey I’m all for a light flavoured brew on occasion [very funny Doc!] but if this is the summer of anything in Australia 2016 seems to be the summer of crappy watered down “Summer Ales” – bring on the Russian Imperial Stouts already!

Poured from a 375ml can into a nonic pint.

A: Hazed pale straw yellow body with a bold 2 cm white sea foam head that soon drops back to a frankly dismal patch of bubbles on top… quite possibly the most disappointing head I’ve ever witnessed – lucky I weight my ‘A’ score more on the body colour. 5/10.

S: Quite peachy, feels like every Aussie brewer is cribbing off Stone & Wood this summer, with notes of citrus and a hint of mango. Would be pretty impressive if it hadn’t already been done by S&W Pacific Ale… still we can’t really blame brewers for copying one of the best Australian beers can we now? [yes, we can]. 7/10.

T: At least S&W PA has a bit of flavour going on – this however is soda water with a hint of peach/lemon/mango hop characters – far too muted, even for a Summer Ale. Finish is clean and dry with a touch of grain in the aftertaste. If only 4 Pines had the balls to give it a bit more in the flavour department – the promise of a decent beer is hiding right there in the aroma. 6/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with a light, almost flat, carbonation – nothing out of the ordinary here. 7/10.

D: Look I get what 4 Pines were trying to do here, I really do, but after the avalanche of Summer Ales we’ve had over here enough is quite becoming enough for me and I just want brewers to get back to their winter catalogue. “What are you talking about Doc, there hasn’t been a deluge of Summer Ales lately!” – well here’s a small list of the breweries doing them this year: James Squire, Mountain Goat, Fortitude Valley, Little Creatures, Nail, and now 4 Pines – I’ve had it with summer! (beers). 7/10.

Food match: Fish and chips with salt & vinegar down by the wharf.

Standard

2 thoughts on “4 Pines Indian Summer Pale Ale

Leave a Reply

