Golden Road Wolf Among Weeds IPA

Total Score: 8.7/10 HopFlower1Pineapple1CutGrass1Tulipglass1

It seems we have a wolf among weeds, a git amongst the pigeons, three bob short of a ten quid note, a turd in the hamper*, etc… So yeah, pop-culture reference out of the way yet another American Double IPA to win me over with a bag of hops and a humulus lupulus grin on its vast green face. Boy am I not getting tired of hoppy beers [no, really I love them!] however my point of reference in this sea of hops is making it difficult for me to bring to mind the best DIPAs from the masses. Lucky then I keep detailed notes and scores on almost every beer I drink, yay.

Poured from a 473ml can into a Duvel tulip.

A: Cloudy pale jonquil body with a 2 cm white head that soon dies down leaving some impressive lace on the side of the glass, good head proteins there. 9/10.

S: Sweet pineapple, piney, citric notes on the nose. There is a touch of a herbal cannabis note in the background as well – Wolf Among The Weed may have been as appropriate a name as its current appellation. The aroma is quite juicy and moreish, however it could benefit from a tad more complexity, but I’m splitting hairs here – it’s still pretty damn good. 8/10.

T: Quite grassy and herbal towards the front, mixes in some light tropical and juicy fruit chewing gum mid-palate, and finish is a medium herbal bitterness. It’s all very restrained given the style and the 8% ABV, I could see myself knocking back a few of these cans. Flavour hints at some dry-hop torpedo action, in fact it reminds me a little of Sierra Nevada’s Torpedo Hunter (aka my mixing of SN’s Torpedo IPA and Hop Hunter). Tasty drop this! 9/10.

M: Medium bodied, hop oiliness abounds, with a light and dense carbonation. 8/10.

D: Would. Buy. Again. Another thing I noticed while drinking it was a spicy ginger touch in the aftertaste, this is a DIPA that manages to swim to the surface in the sea of hops and make itself known, and that is a tall order when it comes to the American IPA scene – IPAs are dime a dozen these days and this one goes down a treat. Problem is getting it here in Australia, Sierra Nevada get a few of their brews down here but this Golden Road was somewhat more difficult to acquire, looks like I’ll be sticking with my Torpedo Hunters for a while yet. 9/10.

Food match: Spicy Thai/Indonesian cuisine is your best bet here.

*If you can guess this obscure sketch show reference I will actually leave a turd in your laundry hamper.

Standard

Leave a Reply

