Dupont Cervesia

Total Score: 9.7/10 Pear1Orange1Coriander1Tulipglass1

Brasserie Dupont brew my all-time, indisputable (at least until another brewer bests them) favourite Saison – their eponymous Saison. So when I found this corked/caged 750ml bottle of Cervesia at Plonk I was at first intrigued “Do Dupont do anything apart from Saisons?” well apparently this one is a Gruit (before hops were mainstream beers were finished with herbs and spices – Gruit is the name for this mixture) with sweet woodruff (known as Galium Odoratum or wild baby’s breath) and bog myrtle along with a dozen other spices. I do like a good Gruit.

Poured from a 750ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Fully cloudy, I may have stirred up the yeast somewhat, tangerine body with a 2 cm dense white head that soon reduces to a thin blanket of snow on top. Closer inspection reveals suspended yeast particles – I love those guys. 8/10.

S: Sharp sweet spices: Coriander along with cardamom especially, infused with a musty yeast, overripe pears and big floral note… hint of bubble gum coming through too, this is one hugely complex fragrance sitting in front of me. Notes of concentrated orange juice coming through too… damn! 10/10.

T: Sweet upfront, not sugar bomb overly but noticeable, then the spices hit and mid palate everything balances with a citric note… this is a fairly sublime balance. Flavours noted (I need a list): Orange peel, overripe pear, coriander, cardamom, clove, something else bitter and herbal, something coppery/earthy and musty yeast. Aftertaste brings back that orange concentrate noted in the aroma. Flawless taste? Pretty much. 10/10.

M: Medium bodied with creamy almost Weizen-like carbonation. Hard to find faults with this brew. 10/10.

D: Wow. It’s been a while since I’ve had a brew this good, once again Dupont have hit the proverbial nail on the head with this fantastic Gruit. In fact if I had a bottle of this and Duvel (my favourite beer) sitting on a table in front of me I would reach for Cervesia, perhaps I’ve had my fill of Duvel – which is a brilliant beer no less, who knows maybe these spiced brews hit the spot more in my old age? [35 atm btw]. Regardless this is one fascinating beer from Dupont deserving of a place in my beer pantheon, no two ways about it. Better than their Saison? For me: Shit yeah! 9/10.

Food match: Beef bourguignon or steak frites, or if you’re less meat-inclined: Cheese platter with some Bleu de Bresse.

Standard

Leave a Reply

