Weltenburger Kloster Barock Dunkel

Total Score: 7.35/10 BrownSugar1 DarkFruits1 Wood1 Stein1

Weltenburger Kloster Barock Dunkel from Klosterbrauerei Weltenburg – The second oldest brewery in the world! Ouch, that’s gotta sting – I bet they’re waiting with bated breath for Weihenstephan to close their doors – not bloody likely as Weihenstephan are the still the best Weizen brewers around. Turns out Weltenburger have been brewing since 1050 AD and Weihenstephan only beat them by 10 years! How about that? Anywho, time to give this Munich Dunkel Lager a good rundown, wish me luck.

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a stein.

A: Hazed auburn brown body with a nice dense beige head that soon retreats to leave a light lace covering. Not the worst looking Dunkel Lager out there by any means. 7/10.

S: Truckloads of malt give this brew a brown sugar/dark rum note, this is of course bang-on to style, followed by some light bread notes, hint of nuttiness and a dark fruit (plum/prune) finish. If I had a complaint, and I do, it could do with a bit more of a prominent yeast character. 7/10.

T: Sweet rum raisin! This beer tastes like sweet rum raisin. Along with that is some light woody/nuttiness, a thin veneer of bread characters, and a lacquer dry finish. The sweetness of this brew is perfect – not too under/over powering, and there is a slight herbal aftertaste as a nod to the hops that are no doubt in this brew. 8/10.

M: Mid to light, almost medium but not quite there, bodied with a light but dense carbonation – in the case of this brew a medium body is warranted yet not obtained, oh well. 6/10.

D: The aftertaste, that lacquer dry finish, begin to grate me as I reached the end of the glass – which is a shame because there is an excellent beer struggling to free itself from the shackles of an oppressive aftertaste… or something along those lines. It does however compare favourably to its greatest competitor: Weihenstephaner Tradition – which I found to be less flavoursome overall – so cheers to Weltenburger! WIBIA? (which sounds funny when said out loud and stands for “Would I Buy It Again?”) Yes I think I would – there is definitely a spot in my fridge door for a malt heavy Lager, as there should be in every fridge. 7/10.

Food match: If it’s pork related and BBQ’d you’ll ne’er go wrong with this brew.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Weltenburger Kloster Barock Dunkel

    • Good question, I live in Australia, so to hazard a guess I would try stores that stock craft beer – I’m guessing that you’re closer to Providence than Boston so I would try there – they’re bound to have some boutique bottle shops… I hope that helps…

      Like

Leave a Reply

