Mountain Goat Cross Breed Seedy Goat Coffee Porter

Total Score: 7.3/10 Coffee1 Nut1 Earth1 Tulipglass1

Mountain Goat Cross Breed Seedy Goat Coffee Porter or MGCBSGCP for short, sounds like a handful, and here’s hoping it is when it comes to the flavour – I like my Coffee Porters/Stouts big or BIG (Blimey I’m Glorious-right-now-due-to-all-this-awesomeness). Fact: This beer is brewed with both coffee and seedy goats, the type you might find milling around goat-themed video arcades bullying kids [see, another goat reference] out of change so they can play the latest version of Sega Goat Rally… true story.

Poured from a 640ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Deep cloudy brown – same shade as the bottle it came in: that’s a first! with a minimal almost tan head that reminds me overall of an espresso shot with that crema ring on top – once again I’ve found yet another attractive dark beer #ilovedarkbeers. 9/10.

S: The coffee notes are quite bold and fruity with unroasted coffee ‘cherry’, cold drip, nutty, citric characters – I would be forgiven for thinking Ethiopian Yirgacheffe (it must be noted coffee is another passion of mine) but it is in fact Colombian El Desarrollo – err, points for trying? I admire that this brew is so singular in its pursuit of coffee aroma – reminds me of Founders BS, high praise indeed. 8/10.

T: This is one coffee dominated brew, perhaps one of the most singularly coffee driven brews (for better or worse) that I’ve tried, and boy do I try every single one I come across! Flavour is nutty and earthy, roasty and toasty, with a citric and tannic quality to the finish – cold drip coffee has never been better represented in a beer before. Now with all the superlative comments out of the way – it is lacking sweetness. It’s very nutty and earthy, which is great, but a hit of sugar wouldn’t go amiss and wouldn’t overpower the fine work nutty and earthy are doing here. FBS is a good example of the perfect marriage between coffee and sugar, and if I didn’t add a teaspoon of sugar to my coffee this score would be higher for me. 7/10.

M: Mid to light bodied, could use more body, with a dense almost gassy *burps* yes gassy carbonation. 7/10.

D: Final thoughts? Coffee + beer = awesome (if the ratios are done right) and this is a brew that almost gets it spot on but really – I am going to drink a Breakfast Stout after this because I can and I find the balance in FBS sublime so there you have it – A solid effort by MG that could use a bit more sweetness. 7/10.

Food match: A bold H. Upmann No. 2 would go with this nicely (it’s not food I know).

Standard

Leave a Reply

