Peroni Gran Riserva Puro Malto

Total Score: 6.6/10 Honeycomb1 Bread1 CutGrass1 PokalStange1

I speak Italian. True story. I can demonstrate my demonstrably impressive Italian by translating the name of this beer into my mother tongue (good-old gets-the-job-done English): Peroni (which is a name so no translation required) grand reserve pure malt. Impressed? [so am I] Anyway to the beer at literal hand – Peroni Gran Riserva Puro Malto – surprisingly the only other Peroni I’ve reviewed was their Gran Riserva Doppio Malto, which I thought was good but overpriced, now we get to this average priced ($5 a 500ml bottle) Puro Malto in its mini Spumante-esque vessel, and I must admit I do enjoy a decent Italian Lager so here goes.

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a Pokal.

A: Slight hazed pale yellow body with a white 1 cm head that soon dissipates to a thin lace ring. Not the best looking Lager out there, but then appearance only counts to 5% of my total score so you’re off the hook Peroni. 5/10.

S: Sweet honey malts upfront, doughy bread centre, with a slight grassy hop note towards the back. There’s nothing “grand” about this aroma – it’s a middle-of-the-road borderline cheap European Lager bouquet here. Middle-of-the-road borderline cheap score for you: 6/10.

T: Refreshing palate is the first thing noticed. The above flavours are present as expected (honey malt/bread dough/cut grass) but it’s the finish that shows a touch of Italian Lager finesse with that grass note crisping up the palate and preparing you for the next sip. Aftertaste has a dry white vinous and floral character. Not bad Peroni, better than your regular Lager, but also not great either. 7/10.

M: Mid to light, almost medium bodied with a sharp, crisp carbonation, I’m partial to extra body in any beer style, points abound. 8/10.

D: Peroni have produced, as it turns out, a solid crisp dry Lager which would have the Japanese scratching their heads. Never discount a country that is good at winemaking when it comes to brewing – Peroni have distilled the essence of a dry white wine into this brew, although a part of me wonders how much drier a beer can get now. In a grape-skin this is a good palate cleansing beer from one of the better macro Italian brewers, and you know IHM (I Hate Macros, it’s the name of my bloody beer blog) but in the case of this beer: ILM (Industrial Light & Magic for all you cinephiles out there). 6/10.

Food match: The label says “pasta, risotti, carne rossa e formaggi saporiti” and I tend to agree for once.

Standard

Leave a Reply

