8 Wired Flat White Coffee Milk Stout

Total Score: 8.1/10 Coffee1 Smoke1 Earth1 Nonicpint1

Did you know that the flat white (my favourite espresso style – similar to a caffè latte but with more espresso/less milk) was invented in New Zealand (disputed). As such 8 Wired, perhaps my favouritest of all NZ brewers [don’t forget Tuatara or Yeastie Boys Doc] have brewed their homage to the humble flat white (not like those showboating cappuccinos): 8 Wired Flat White Coffee Milk Stout. I love Milk Stouts. Yes, I love many beer styles, however Milk Stouts are something I always try to have at the ready in my fridge (current fridge Milk Stout being: McAuslan’s Oatmeal Stout).

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a nonic pint.

A: Deep black cola opaque body with a thin tan (crema comparisons will now commence) crema-like lace on top (crema comparisons have ended, resume your regularly scheduled program). 8/10.

S: Aroma is of course awesome because I love coffee and everything related to that dark bean, my dark mistress, she beckons me – “I see that you’re getting tired, drink me… NOW!”. Espresso coffee, both strong and floral, hit the senses along with hints of vanilla bean and earth. The coffee in this aroma dominates like the coffee in FBS, which is impressive to say the least. 9/10.

T: Smoky roasted coffee beans precede an earthy and rich coffee bean character throughout. The flavour is balanced lightly by teaspoon of sugar, represented aptly here by lactose, and finishes borderline Irish Dry Stout dry. The vanilla bean noted in the aroma is less noticeable here, but a presence is felt nonetheless. Balance is razor-edge fine with this excellent Milk Stout. 8/10.

M: Biggest area lacking with this brew: The body which is medium but could use the heft normally afforded in an Oatmeal Stout. Carbonation is dense and light. 7/10.

D: This is a damn near perfect representation of the flat white style in a beer – the only problem with trying to make a ‘flat white’ beer is that you will always be missing the creamy element from the milk. Lactose is the closest thing to milk that you can add to a beer without risk of curdling or infection and I wonder if more lactose would make this brew creamier or if there is a sugar limit involved. In any case 8 Wired have crafted another superlative beer *in my best Kiwi accent* chairs bra! 8/10.

Food match: I feel like drinking this brew with an Eggs Benedict in front of me (my favourite breakfast with my favourite espresso) take from this what you will.

Standard

Leave a Reply

