Yenda Pale Ale

Total Score: 5.3/10 Caramel1 Barley1 GreenMelon1 Nonicpint1

So this is a new one at Dan Murphy’s and they’re practically giving it away if you’re a member there: Yenda Pale Ale. What’s a Yenda? Who knows and who cares. All I care about is the “Pale Ale” bit of the label, and if this beer actually lives up to the style (though by the 4.5% ABV and the general label information with middling hop and malt intensity I for one am not holding my breath). Also of note: I did not buy this beer – it’s one of the beers my dad has in his fridge. FYI my dad thinks Becks is an awesome beer.

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a nonic pint.

A: Light amber, almost golden clear body with a massive 1 inch frothy off-white head that holds up well, ungainly as it is. Looks alright… it’s no Sierra Nevada but it does the job. 7/10.

S: The aroma is all over the shop with notes of sweet grain/caramel malts, floral hops and pineapple. This could definitely use more hops, it’s a bit of a muted aroma and for an American Pale Ale that is a cardinal sin. 5/10.

T: Caramel/toffee/grainy malts provide a decent enough sweet base, however there’s little in the way of hops to cut through it… and as expected it is a bit bland flavourwise. The hops themselves, almost non-existent as they are, provide a light floral addition and the finish is a non-descript mild bitter note. Aftertaste is a bit melony… yes I just invented a word “melony, cousin of felony”. 5/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with a light(ish) carbonation. 7/10.

D: Final verdict: Meh. Give this one a miss. It has all the characteristics of a beer my dad would tolerate but find a little hoppy for his Lager tastes. I’m actually hard-pressed to think of another Pale Ale I’ve tried recently that I have been so ambivalent about, this is like a filler beer – a beer you drink to get you tipsy eventually because you like to feel tipsy, and I moved on from those beers like a decade ago – now I fill my fridge with beers that excite me: IPAs, Belgian Tripels and Quads, Imperial Stouts, Gueuzes, Weizens and Rauchbiers – I want to sup on the nectar of the gods, none of this average macro filler crap. You have been forewarned. 5/10.

Food match: The label mentions “spicy food” yeah right, do you actually want to taste this beer at all? Probably not, but that’s beside the point, if you’re going to recommend a food pairing for this I would advise something like a chicken burger.

Standard

Leave a Reply

