Modus Operandi Former Tenant Red IPA

Total Score: 8.8/10 HopFlower1 Caramel1 Clove1 Nonicpint1

I’m surprised I haven’t reviewed Modus Operandi – I know I’ve had this Red IPA once before and loved it, but then again I don’t review every beer I try, especially when I’m out with friends (I don’t want to be that person who spends more time nose deep in their phone than catching up with mates). Anyway this time I had a window of oppurrtunity [something cat related] at Ye-Now-Olde Archive in Brisbane and I was determined to give Modus Operandi a good going over – with my tongue [nope, bad imagery]… how about – with my (taste)buds! [better, still needs work though].

Poured from tap into a Schooner glass (aka 425ml Australian pub glass).

A: Presents a clear deep copper/ruby body with a thin cream coloured lacing on top. Great, I love the look of a good red ale, especially when it comes “red” as advertised. Nice work MO! 9/10.

S: Prominent floral/citric/herbal hop characters, upfront and all over the aroma – you can tell straight away this one is going to pack a punch! In the background lingers notes of toasty malts, an earthy mid-palate, and hints of ground peppercorns… yes please – I will ‘ave at it. 9/10.

T: ALRIGHT. All of the above noted characters with an added hint of lychee. The balance is BIG sweet cara-malts with equally BIG floral/citric/herbal bitter/aromatic hops. Complexity: Check. Flavour: Check. Balance: Check. This brew demands your undivided attention (or first born child – pay heed – it doesn’t care which one it gets) and I commend its gutsy no nonsense approach. 9/10.

M: Medium bodied with a thin but nonetheless creamy carbonation… could do with a bit more body/chewiness for a 7.8% ABV brew – it’s a minor imperfection on an otherwise awesome Red IPA. 7/10.

D: What a beer! If I could brew as good as Modus Operandi did with Former Tenant I would be set (my latest homebrew batch is a disaster – never cut corners people!). The only other problem: I’m the designated driver tonight :-/ If you’ve been following me on BeerAdvocate or on my blog you’ll know that my tastes do gravitate to bold flavoured brews and this one is damn good – get it. Now… hypnotoad commands it. 9/10.

Food match: Chargrilled BBQ meats, beef steaks, spare ribs and chilli sauce in a big bowl, oh yes.

Standard

One thought on “Modus Operandi Former Tenant Red IPA

  1. Pingback: Doc’s Top 100 Beers What Are Obtainable In Australia! | Craft Beer news & reviews

Leave a Reply

