Mikkeller Cucumber Witbier

Total Score: 8.7/10 Cucumber1 Coriander1 WhiteWine1 Chalice1

It’s hard to go past that wacky-one-man-team known as Mikkeller, a former Math and Physics teacher Mikkel Borg Bjergsø, who hails from the most Danish of countries: Denmark. This Cucumber Witbier, brewed in conjunction with I’m A Kombo (some sort of Danish catering company I believe) has what I would consider an eye-catching label with instructions on how to cap your beer with a cucumber. Needless to say I didn’t follow them.

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a Chimay chalice.

A: Presents a hazy amber body with a wispy white head that sticks around at about half a centimetre. Looks more like a Pale Ale than a Witbier, but I’m still drawn to it nonetheless. 7/10.

S: This is why I love reviewing beers – to this day I am still presented with new and exciting aromas, tastes and textures, and this Cucumber Witbier has one of the most unique aromas I’ve ever encountered in a beer with; Cucumber (of course, we all expected that) with a distinct note of dill (never encountered dill in a beer before). In the background hints of lime and dry white wine grapes add to the olfactory delight. 9/10.

T: The cucumber becomes less notable in the flavour – it is quite a light flavour to begin with – as the dill, dry white wine, lime take over. Along with this is a tiny bubble gum note, some sweet candi sugar and pepper towards the finish, which is more a vermouth dry than bitter. The aftertaste leaves a pleasant cucumber and dill sandwich taste on the palate. 9/10.

M: Medium bodied with a nice soft carbonation that suits this Wit well. 7/10.

D: Damn this is an interesting brew I’ll have to try again, if I ever see it again. Which I won’t because Mikkeller (usually) only brews single batches, I hate you Mikkeller! But I also love you Mikkeller! Make this beer again and forever and I will keep a spot in my fridge for it. Overall this beer is an oddity in ALL the good ways – a moreish treat for an old beer geek like me, helped along by the fact that I love a good old-fashioned cucumber sandy. 9/10.

Food match: You know what I’m going to say and it is cucumber related.

Standard

Leave a Reply

