Schneider Weisse Tap 7 Unser Original

Total Score: 8.15/10 Caramel1 Bananas1 Peppercorns1 Weizenglass1

Finally – four years after promising to review Weihenstephaner’s nearest rival in the high stakes game that is ‘number one Weissbier in the world’ I got my hands on another bottle of Schneider Weisse Tap 7 Unser Original. Shame on Schneider Weisse for having such crap distribution in Australia whilst its most average of competitors [I’m looking at you Erdinger!] can be found in most liquor chains. Anyway it is done – I found a bottle of Tap 7 and Plonk and I am going to review the shit out of it!

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a Stiegl Weizen glass.

A: Darker than most Hefeweizens with a hazy caramel brown body and a decent 1 inch cream coloured head that all too soon reduces to 1 cm with a sea foam consistency. I think Weihenstephaner is the winner here. 7/10.

S: Caramelised banana upfront and prominent with dry cracker and hints of pepper in the background. Touches of pear ester and a nutty character make themselves present upon a further whiff and really up the complexity ante against Weihenstephan, sehr schön! 10/10.

T: Distinctly dry on the palate, even for a Weizen, with the flavour taking a step back from the aroma promise but nonetheless providing the above anticipated notes: Caramel, banana, dry cracker, pepper, pear and pecan nut. The banana is less noticeable and takes a bit of a backseat to the caramel flavour, for better or worse. 8/10.

M: Here’s the most disappointing aspect of Tap 7 – medium bodied, but a tad watery, with a flatter carbonation than most Weizens – maybe I had a bad bottle, but this is an unacceptable texture for a Weizen. 6/10.

D: Memory has not been kind to Tap 7 for me. I recall it being perhaps a step above Weihenstephaner, however my mind has been playing tricks, or this is a bad bottle, either way the winner in my four year battle of Hefe-titans is Weihenstephaner (which I drink quite regularly now @ around $50 for a case of 12 it is hard to beat). Positives? We can finally lay to rest the promise I made to review Tap 7*… actually this is still a damn fine Weizen, just not the best. 8/10.

Food match: Roasted chicken breast with pancetta, leeks & thyme.

*I went back and had a look at my Weihenstephaner review and I actually promised to review the Tap 6 not the Tap 7, which is a Weizenbock not a Hefeweizen… :$

Standard

Leave a Reply

