Arcobräu Hefe-Weisse

Total Score: 7.95/10 Butter1 Caramel1 Bananas1 Weizenglass1

This one came as a bit of a surprise to me last night when I was out on the town. First thing that struck me with the night club I was out at was that aside from the typical selection of average Lagers: Corona, Peroni and Oettinger Pils there were 4 Arcobräu brews on offer. What is Arcobräu? I had never heard of this brewery, but so impressed [spoiler alert] with this Hefeweizen I will no doubt be getting Plonk to track down more so I can pay a reasonable (i.e. non-night club) price for it… Prost!

Poured from a 500ml bottle into an Arcobräu Weizen glass.

A: Hazy golden body with a classic Weizen 1 inch white head that sticks around like a champ. I recall noting to my friends that the head, from the bartenders pour, was missing the head marker – anecdotal evidence has told me that in Germany the bar has to tip it down the drain or give it to you for free if this happens… I do miss Germany. 7/10.

S: Distinct buttery character with caramel notes and a hint of banana, but no clove notes, an intriguing aroma for an experienced Weizen drinker. The slant of the aroma towards malt and Diacetyl, plus the more golden than usual colour had already set me up for something unique. 7/10.

T: Diacetyl is prominent, however it isn’t the malevolent drain pour that I ended up with in my homebrew “Accidental Weizen” and within the bounds of acceptability for BJCP’s guidelines on Hefeweizens. That buttery, almost toffee note, melds into roasted caramel with a hint of banana. The finish is, as typical of a Weizen, clean of bitterness and slightly dry. 8/10.

M: Medium bodied with a fairly creamy (though it could be a little creamier) carbonation. 8/10.

D: Again I was startled when I tried this Weizen – it’s got something unique with its lack of clove and prominent caramel/butter notes driving the experience. Which is unexpected given how bad my own “Accidental Weizen” went with so much Diacetyl that it began to take on a menthol character. Arcobräu have produced a Hefeweizen that, whilst not a challenger for the Weihenstephaner crown, is indeed an interesting enough take on the style. 9/10.

Food match: Can’t go wrong with Schweinshaxe mit bratkartoffeln und sauerkraut.

Standard

Leave a Reply

