Oakham Ales Inferno

Total Score: 7.3/10 PapayaMango1 Tea1 Lemon1 Nonicpint1

Oakham Ales, the oak that is the ham of Ales, fine delicious Ale ham – that’s Oakham. Enough wordplay! I’ve got myself another Oakham Ale, and I bloody enjoy a good pint of Citra, so I naturally clutched at the bottle of Inferno as soon as I saw it at Plonk, I knew good times were ahead of me. Interesting fact about Oakham: Apparently their “trophy cabinet is bursting at the seams…” and why are we not surprised? Note: If you haven’t tried their Citra yet I implore you to stop reading, burn your computer, run down to your local bottleshop wearing potato chip packets on your feet whilst screaming “I’m a happy little pony!”† and try it now.

Poured from a 500ml bottle into a nonic pint.

A: Once again Oakham certainly like to bring out some hazy urine coloured Ales… not that I’m complaining – same colour out as in, easy on the kidneys I guess. The head is a thin white lace covering. 7/10.

S: More Oakham goodness – Jolly Rancher mango (does that even exist?) [of course it does – you can get every flavour candy in America, no matter how stupid an idea the flavour is] with hints of lemon, tea leaf and a toasted malt base. 8/10.

T: Ehhh. It’s good, not as good as their Citra though. The profile is quite soft and light upfront with hints of mango, tea leaf and lemon, but it’s finished with an acrid medicinal bitterness that seems a touch unforgiving and unwarranted given the brevity of the flavour characters. Perhaps I’m being a tad harsh but I don’t really see a niche for this brew in the Oakham line-up. Nor am I detecting five different Yakima Valley hop blends… so there’s that too. 7/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with some flat old English pub carbonation. Spot on UK brew. 8/10.

D: Citra is much better than Inferno… and similar. Which is a shame as Oakham could have branched out in a new direction but it’s like they’re a dog playing the same tricks… no wait – a pony. A one-trick pony. Huh, I’m a happy little pony with all my metaphors coming home to roost, like a chicken… no wait – a pony. A pony coming home to roost… yeah, that works. 7/10.

Food match: Roast lamb and gravy roll – pub style! [Awww yeah!]

†Addendum: Yeah, don’t do that, really.

Standard

Leave a Reply

