Petrus Aged Red

Total Score: 7.95/10 Cherry1 Wood1 Honeycomb1 Tulipglass1

Here we go, unexplored territory: Doc’s first Flanders Oud Bruin (or in the parlance of English: Flanders Old Brown). Having fast become a fan of Flanders Red Ales, specifically Rodenbach Grand Cru, I’m looking forward to this Petrus Aged Red (or Foudre Rouge en Français) as I’m still crossing beer styles to try off my list [I think there’s only another 10-13 styles left that I haven’t had including obscure stuff such as: Faro, Braggot, Roggenbier, Gose and Kvass… W(here)TF do I get Kvass from in Canberra???]. Anyway that’s enough waffle, bring on the Petrus!

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a Duvel Tulip.

A: An interesting deep hazy brown/ruby body, no doubt the ruby is a result of 10% of this brew comprising of cherries, there is also a pink-tinged tan coloured head that quickly dies down to a thin lace. One of the most interesting brews I’ve ever seen, quite outside the box, Doc likes outside the box. 9/10.

S: Cherries, real sour cherries dominate this damn fine aroma. This is one cherrystravaganza! Combined with this are notes of oak (woody/vanilla French oak), sourdough yeast and honey. Here’s hoping the taste is as good as the aroma. 9/10.

T: Woah! *Keanu Reeves voice* This is a big cherry slap in the face which starts out (almost) sickly sweet, then hits with slight tart character and finishes with a medicinal note that morphs into cherry cough syrup (not a fan of that part). Everything else takes a back seat as the cherry demands your attention, with those hints of oak, sourdough and honey lingering in the background. The question with Petrus Aged Red is: Too much? And the answer for me is ‘yes’ and ‘no’. I sorta really like it… then I don’t… my tongue is so confused right now. 8/10.

M: Medium bodied, a bit of cloying from the sugar content, with a light but dense carbonation. However I am wishing this would go down a bit easier. 7/10.

D: This is one beer that could benefit from less flavour intensity, especially in the finish with the cough syrup notes, and believe me – if you’ve been following my reviews you’ll know this – I very rarely say that a beer can “benefit from less flavour intensity”. You have been warned. Question now is: Did I end up deciding if I actually like Petrus Aged Red? Yes, I think I do… hmmm, I’ll try it ice cold next time. Some good cherry characters at play here though. 7/10.

Food match: Roast beef with a cherry jus, sautéed leeks and chard, and a cherry tart with whipped cream for dessert.

Standard

Leave a Reply

