Young Henry’s Real Ale

Total Score: 6.6/10 Lemon1 Malt1 Tea1 Nonicpint1

Time for some Young Henry’s Real Ale, and boy (girl/superstar DJ’s) am I excited, not for this beer but for the newly restocked fridge and the beers I have on offer in my future reviews… oh and this review will be good too… eh, who am I kidding? I had Real Ale 3 weeks ago at the Young Henry’s mini tap takeover at The Durham [spoiler: not as good as the Hop Ale]. Let’s do this so I can crack on with my next review… actually the one after, I’m not so excited about the next beer I have to review… just skip reading that one.

Poured from tap into a nonic pint.

A: Hazy amber body with a thin white head that shrinks into oblivion fairly fast – not great, less inspiring than the Hop Ale, with a “ho” and a “hum”. 5/10.

S: Fruity Fuggle-like* hop aromas with a solid toffee malt base. Très Anglais or “Very English” said in French the language English people most admire. One thing I did annotate is how muted the notes are – I know it’s practically a mid-strength at 4% ABV but there are plenty of well-endowed mid-strength aromas out there, and this isn’t one of them. 6/10.

T: Fruity hops combine with citric note and follow through to a light toffee malt base. Finishes with the sort of lea leaf characteristic you would find in a classic English IPA and the flavour is a step in the right direction, though it is still leaving me wanting more. 7/10.

M: Mid to light bodied, borderline watery in feel with a thin UK pub carbonation. Close to style but a touch “meh”. 6/10.

D: The easier Ale to drink but overall more of a boring English cousin to the Hop Ale’s brash almost obnoxious American personality. These days I do tend towards bigger beers, nothing insane – just more flavourful, so I really wasn’t awestruck by Real Ale and went straight back to the Hop Ale afterwards. As far as this brew goes though it is a decent effort for an Australian brewer to make a beer this English and a throwback to a bygone era where men wore Alan Whickers and Syrup of Figs. 7/10.

Food match: In Cockney – Dead and sneeze or a nice and mild Ruby Murray.

*They probably are Fuggles hops, as the saying I just made goes “Where there’s Fuggles hops, there’s fruity aromas”.

Standard

Leave a Reply

