BrewDog Dead Pony Club

Total Score: 7.4/10 Pineapple1 PapayaMango1 Pear1 Nonicpint1

Time to review a beer from my next favourite brewer with ‘dog’ in their name, those wily Scottish rapscallions: BrewDog. It got me thinking that ‘dog’ seems to be a popular animal to name your brewery after, as such (and in the spirit of equality) I will now create my own brewery with the word ‘cat’ in it… something like “WortCats” or “Cat Ester Beers”… of course all of this is nonsense and very very silly indeed as I already own and operate a one man brewery: DocBräu, purveyor of the now classic drain pour known as “Accidental Weizen” (don’t ask, really don’t). Annnnyway, today’s BrewDog is an American Pale Ale “Dead Pony Club” which tips the scales at a hefty 3.8% ABV – coming from the brewer of the lethal 55% ABV “The End Of History” I’m curious as to whether or not they can pull off a decent mid strength, we’ll see hey chaps (and chapettes).

Poured from a 330ml can into a nonic pint.

A: Cloudy yeast sediment an orange body and a thin beige lace greets the drinker, i.e. me, with a “How do you do?”. “Quite well thanks for asking” I reply. 7/10.

S: Like a bowl of fruit salad containing pineapple, papaya and pears in syrup. Very pungent and moreish… Dead Pony Club are you sure that you’re only 3.8% ABV? I haven’t whiffed Double IPAs with this many bold hop aromas – most impressive! Backing up the hops is a solid biscuit malt base. Damn this smells great. 9/10.

T: Taste is a bit of a step back from the aroma, as I was secretly hoping it wouldn’t be but knowing better at such a low ABV, oh well it’s still a corker anyway. Starts out with hints of sweetness, macerated fruit salad mix (the pineapple/papaya/pears), then towards the back it becomes a touch sour and finishes with a light marmalade bitter twang. It goes down easy but you can imagine how bitchen it would be with more flavour intensity. 7/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with some slight hop oils and a light carbonation. 7/10.

D: Damn this one came close to blowing the socks off my feet (a common and unexplained occurrence that happens when a great beer meets my tastebuds – I assure you that I’m seeking medical treatment for this malady). The rift between awesome aroma and OK taste is intriguing with this brew and I can only imagine that BrewDog aimed purposely towards aroma rather than flavouring hops. Which is disappointing because I have always valued flavour over aroma (flavour is 45% of my score in fact). Is this a sessionable beer though? Yes, yes it is. 7/10.

Food match: I’m thinking light Asian fare like a good Pad Thai or Nasi Lemak.

Standard

Leave a Reply

