Pistonhead Kustom Lager

Total Score: 6.1/10 Barley1 CutGrass1 Corn1 PokalStange1

Because, you know, I like my kustom Lagers bespoke I decided to give the old Pistonhead Kustom Lager a go. Ok, first question – what exactly is a “Kustom Lager” and why is it spelled with a “K”? [that’s two questions… I know] A Foogle search (because we’re doing the whole replacing the first letter of words with another letter now) revealed nothing useful so I went to Bikipeda, the top option was a link to the Shandy page, which I guess in a sense is a “custom Lager”. Anyway Pistonhead hails from Spendrups Bryggeri in Sweden. They produce many Lagers. Lager being a popular style in Sweden it seems. Along with cider. And Vikings.

Poured from a 330ml can into a Pokal.

A: A nice hard pour produces a Lager with some fine characteristics; hazy golden body with a white 2cm cappuccino froth head that reduces to a half centimetre. Good head proteins as well, noice! 8/10.

S: Fresh spring water, cut grass, light malt grains and tinned sweet corn. I say “tinned” to denote a metallic tinge. Not bad. Not fantastic. Not shit. Not above mediocrity but below average. A hint above average is my final answer. 6/10.

T: Malty and a bit bland. If this is a Kustom Lager then I’ll be happy with my next Lager being non-customised thank you. The overall flavour profile is heavily muted with the above noted hints throughout (spring water, cut grass, malt grains and sweet corn) followed by the lightest citric bitter finish you ever tasted. Nothing wows me about the flavour of this Lager. 6/10.

M: Mid to light body, a tad aggressively over-carbonated, but that could be due to how cold the beer is (getting on winter here and everything is a little chilly thank you Captain Canberra Winters). 6/10.

D: Mmmmmmmmmmmehhhhhhhh. I could see this beer going down easy on a hot Australian summers day, but I could see a great deal of beers going down easy on a hot Australian summers day. We have hot summers in Australia. Cold Lagers go down left right and centre here mid-January. It doesn’t take much to impress me beerwise on a hot summers day. Spendrups Bryggeri had the chance to impress me with their Kustom Lager but it doesn’t particularly FEEL customised in any sense of the word, another ordinary Lager then. 6/10.

Food match: I normally say something silly for beers lacking flavour like “water crackers” or “rice cakes” but really it doesn’t make any difference what you have with this brew – you will be disappointed regardless.

Standard

Leave a Reply

