8 Wired Bumaye Pinot Noir barrel-aged Imperial Stout

Total Score: 8.45/10 Vegemite1 Wood1 Vanilla1

# 500: Well it has been a while since I’ve done a review, it feels like time for the big one, and I’ve saved this 16% ABV Pinot Noir barrel-aged Imperial Stout; Bumaye (which is “kill him” in the Bantu language known as ‘Lingala’ in Zaire). This is taken from the famous “Rumble in the Jungle” match between Muhammad Ali and George Foreman. Likewise this massive 8 Wired brew promises to knock us out like Ali did to Foreman during their fight… I’m looking forward to this one!

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a Duvel tulip.

A: Deep obsidian black with a tinge of dark red (perhaps I’m imaging this due to the use of Pinot Noir barrels) and a tiny ring of tan lace around the glass. Looks gloriously rich. 8/10.

S: Vegemite (or Marmite for all my Kiwi readers) upfront with burnt caramel, stewed mushrooms (that’s a new one for me), earthy/woody characters, dark chocolate and a touch of barrel oak vanilla. Apart from the heavy Vegemite aroma there are some intriguing notes at play. I’m preparing my taste buds now for the much expected onslaught, wish me luck. 8/10.

T: Woah! And I say this with my best Keanu Reeves impression in mind. There is a great deal of everything going on in my mouth now; Vegemite, severely burnt caramel, soy sauce, earthy/woody characters, dark chocolate and oaky vanilla. Bumaye has four of the five basic flavour types with: Salty, bitter, sweet and umami. The only thing missing is sour. There is a great deal going on with Bumaye, slightly to its detriment, but it is good to have all these flavours knocking about? I would say “yes” it certainly has a great deal more complexity than any wine I’ve ever tried – proving once again beer is better. 9/10.

M: Heavy bodied with an oily character and near flat carbonation, beer syrup! 8/10.

D: Reminiscent of Mikkeller’s 黑牛 – which was, almost ironically but not really in the actual sense of the word, review #250 for me. I feel this brew comes close to being as great as Black Buffalo but misses due to having a slight bit less finesse than Mikkeller’s brew. That said for 16% ABV I could go another of these, which is a bold statement in and of itself. Great work again 8 Wired, you are fast becoming my favourite kiwi brewer! 8/10. Total: 8.45/10.

Food match: I would probably have food before trying on this monster brew – line the stomach and all that.

Standard

Leave a Reply

