Prickly Moses Chardonnay IPA

Total Score: 7.1/10 WhiteWine1 Passionfruit1 Butter1 Nonicpint1

Happy holidays people! Well it has indeed been a while since I’ve reviewed anything, I’ve been kicking it back on the beach with a beer during the festive season (and watching the cricket). But now I feel like I need to get back in the review game, so in the time honoured cooking show tradition here’s one I prepared earlier: Prickly Moses are also a winemaker (Otway Estate) as such they’ve decided to combine an IPA with Chardonnay wine (straight wine, none of this barrelling guff) and see what happens… I suspect beer but I could be wrong.

Poured from tap into a nonic pint.

A: Hazy golden body with a wispy white half cm head. It looks more like a beer than a wine, I’m intrigued to know what ratio they decided on with the added Chardonnay, and how they reached that number (I suspect it involved a lot of wasted beer and wine!). 7/10.

S: Very fruity, botrytis grape with some bold sugar notes and hints of citric hops. Quite an odd IPA this one. It really grabs you by the nose and says “Now look here mister!”. A bit too sugary, odd and lacking hops for a perfect score though. 7/10.

T: An intriguing, almost sickening mix of Chardonnay and IPA flavours. Hits upfront with vinous white grape/stonefruit Chardonnay characters and follows through to citric/passionfruit hops and a buttery finish. Chardonnay matured in oak barrels is my best guess for the bold diacetyl notes. Finish is harsh at the back of the throat and dry like your average (i.e. cheap) Aussie Chardonnay. 7/10.

M: Medium bodied with a creamy carbonation. Good points here. 8/10.

D: At first it’s a bit too much of a mixed bag. Beer and wine, do they go together? Well if you’re drinking a Belgian Strong Pale Ale like Duvel they do, but this has a few of the unwanted wine characters as well (that harsh back of the throat note didn’t go over well for me). It did however grow on me a little more and I even started to enjoy it towards the end. Sort of a shame it was a one off for Sydney Beer Week, I would buy this again on tap for something a bit different. 7/10.

Food match: It’s right in the ball park for seafood, or light Asian flavours, or light Asian seafood… you get my gist.

Standard

Leave a Reply

