2 Brothers Kung Foo Rice Lager

Total Score: 5.8/10 PapayaMango1 Barley1 CutGrass1 Stein1

*RICE LAGER FACE-OFF!!!* A Japanese classic (Echigo Beer Koshihikari Rice Lager) versus the young Aussie upstart (2 Brothers Kung Foo Rice Lager), who will win my beer drinking affections? I’m surprised that I haven’t reviewed a 2 Brothers brew yet, I’ve seen them around and I’ve been told that their Voodoo Baltic Porter won best beer at some Australian beer award thingy, I guess it’s time for 2 Brothers to step up to the plate (to coin a baseball phrase).

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a Stein.

A: Weird: This Rice Lager has a pinkish hue to its very pale clear golden body… in all my years I’ve never seen a beer this peculiar. There was a white head which disappeared completely in three seconds. 2/10.

S: The aroma hits straight off with lychee, follows through with sweet treacle, papaya and Sake notes. This definitely has a more exotic/less typical fragrance than the Echigo, which is a surprise considering the origin of both brews. 7/10.

T: Dry from the get-go, kinda odd with funky notes mixed with lychee, papaya and grain characters. There is a hint of sourness as well… this is one out-of-the-box Lager. The finish is very dry with a Sake aftertaste that reminds you exactly how odd this beer is. 6/10.

M: Mid to light bodied, some wateriness, and an almost flat carbonation. 4/10.

D: Well I’m stumped by this one, not sure where the brewer was going or what they were thinking but this is an exceptionally strange Rice Lager, stranger than it should be. I guess this face-off goes to the stalwart Echigo… I will say one thing in 2 Brothers favour – this is by far the driest beer I have ever had the (mis)fortune of sipping, and that is something Japanese brewers have strived towards ever since Asahi Super Dry was released.* 6/10.

Food match: Get me a glass of water – my mouth has become a desert.

*Google “dorai senso”. I never ask you to do any homework, consider this your first assignment.

Standard

Leave a Reply

