Kaiju! Beer Metamorphosis IPA

Total Score: 7.3/10 HopFlower1 Coriander1 Earth1 Nonicpint1

So maybe I spend a bit more time hanging around the Kaiju! booth than any other booths at the Sip & Savour beer show, I blame brewer Callum and his laidback approachable attitude, are you happy now Callum? Anyway a decent IPA is a make-or-break for any brewer, so even though my brain wanted to spend all my tokens on Behemoth samples, I pressed it into trying the IPA instead (Ha! Stupid brain!).

Poured from tap into 100ml sample cup at the Sip & Savour event in Sydney.

A: Hazy deep amber body with a fluffy half centimetre cream head on top. One thing Kaiju! are consistent with is the spot on appearance of their brews and this one is no exception. 9/10.

S: Piney/floral hops upfront and assertive. Once again that organic/earthy aroma is on the nose (heretofore Kaiju!’s trademark for me). There’s a note of big toffee middle as well, this is really shaping up to a titanic IPA. 9/10.

T: This is one big hop forward brew with piney/herbal notes and an almost aggressive bitter finish. The malt base (noted in the nose) sadly isn’t even noticeable now. The balance of this IPA is skewed too far towards hops. Slightly dry cracker finish makes the aftertaste more bitter than it should be. Disappointing when the aroma promised a big sweet toffee base, which would have balanced it out sublimely. 7/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with a medium carbonation. A tad more carbonated than I like, just saying. 5/10.

D: Well this is my least favourite of the Kaiju! brews so far… which isn’t saying much because: a) I’ve only rated two of their other brews, and b) I rated them highly. But this is, I feel, a missed opportunity as a good IPA will find its way into my fridge quite often/easily. The biggest problem I had with this is the lack of balance between sweet and bitter. Oh and the hops are skewed in a direction I’m not fond of (that bitter herbal slant). Still give it a shot if you get a chance, Kaiju! are establishing a bit of a “big beer” Moon Dog reputation and I love that no-holds-barred attitude. 7/10.

Food match: Thai green or a massaman curry (with added fresh chilli) and a side of coconut rice.

Standard

Leave a Reply

