Cavalier Brown Ale

Total Score: 6.5/10 Wood1 Nut1 Earth1 Nonicpint1

Cavalier Brown Ale, which I think I’ve had several times before (and spoke highly of), is the next head on my chopping block… sometimes I feel like a beer-executioner, donning a black hood and wiping clean my glass of Ale with the conviction that I am serving some sort of beer justice with my pen [which is actually a keyboard]. I almost feel like my reviews are a community service to beer-drinkers around the world, but then I remind myself that taste is highly subjective and my 10 out of 10 is another man’s trash… here’s to wishing Cavalier the best of luck 😉

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a nonic pint.

A: Presents a rich hazy mahogany body with a beige half centimetre head. It’s always great to see a truly brown Brown Ale (some of these Brown Ales do push the gamut of their namesake). 8/10.

S: The aroma is as rich and exciting as a Brown Ale can get with notes of: Wood and earthy/nutty hops, followed by hints of chocolate and toffee. A touch of spring water lingers on as well, letting you know that Cavalier haven’t skimped on water quality for their brews. Phantasmagorically exceptional Brown nose! 9/10.

T: Flavour is a step backwards, followed by a Three Stooges comical trip over… there are notes of the above flavours (woody/nutty/earthy hops) but there isn’t enough of a sweet malt base to carry it through. Far too watery as well. Finishes with a tinge of bitterness from the earthy hops. Lacklustre taste abounds with this Brown. 6/10.

M: Mid to light bodied with a decent enough dense carbonation… but that wateriness distracts in the feel. 6/10.

D: Needs way more malt sweetness, and maybe a few more hops, to make it exceptional. As it is this is an average Brown Ale – a missed opportunity for Cavalier to assert itself in a market that is becoming flooded with great craft brewers (especially the exponential growth of the Australian brewing scene, which is spectacular!)… I really wanted this to be the Cavalier brew I loved but forgot about all those years ago, oh well – the hunt continues then. 5/10.

Food match: The nutty/earthiness of this brew made me think of an Indonesian dish: Gado-gado, which would suit this beer well.

Standard

Leave a Reply

