Evil Twin Molotov Cocktail

Total Score: 8.15/10 Grapefruit1 HopFlower1 Orange1 Tulipglass1

Evil Twin is Denmark’s answer to “Can Denmark make awesome beers or what?”, and I’m hitting the hardest ABV of their brews that is readily available (they did produce a limited release 17.2% American Double Imperial Stout called “Bozo Beer” however good luck getting one in Australia): Molotov Cocktail. The name in itself conjures up thoughts of my mouth exploding with delight, as well as my nipples*.

Poured from a 355ml bottle into a Duvel Tulip.

A: Presents an orange body with a crazy amount of yeast particles floating around and a thin white lacing for a head. Doc likes yeast particles, so extra points there. 9/10.

S: Big fruity and floral hops smash my olfactory senses, also noted is a sweet caramel malt base and grapefruit lingering in the background. Smells like an absolute hop fuelled fantasy. 9/10.

T: Very much an amped up version of Bridgeport’s Hop Czar, which I noted as having characters of: Grapefruit, pine resin, and bitter orange hops – upfront, at the back and generally all over the place, these hops are tap-dancing on my tongue. There is also a cloying syrupy sweetness as well, like a tanker full of treacle. I find this a bit too intense, then I look at the label and remind myself that it is 13% ABV, and it’s not that intense for alcohol this high. At least the balance of sweetness to bitterness is even-handed. 8/10.

M: Medium bodied, with a carbonation that is hard to place due to the oiliness of the mouthfeel, it’s not distracting nonetheless. 7/10.

D: Well Evil Twin really lobbed a live grenade onto my tongue with this brew. It made me stand to ask the question “Am I really enjoying this or is it too much?”, then I would take another sip and the answer would invariably be my inner hop lover nodding “Yes to both!” frantically. A beer with caveats then. Whilst it doesn’t destroy my tongue with bitterness like Sixpoint’s Resin, and it doesn’t turn me into a diabetic like Gulden Draak, it comes quite close to doing both. 8/10.

Food match: Sharp cheese platter… or anything with bold flavours really, your tongue will be numb before you finish the glass anyhow.

*Did anyone get my obscure Monty Python “Dirty Hungarian Phrasebook” reference?

Standard

One thought on “Evil Twin Molotov Cocktail

  1. Pingback: Doc’s Top 100 Beers What Are Obtainable In Australia! | Craft Beer news & reviews

Leave a Reply

