Weihenstephaner Tradition Bayerische Dunkel

Total Score: 7.25/10 Bread1 Biscuit1 Caramel1 Stein1

German bier?! Again?! Yeah well let’s just say that beer is one thing I can agree on with the German people. Their terrible “pun” driven sense of humour? Let’s just say I’m not a dad but even I can’t stop telling dad jokes, like: What did the carrot say to the tomato while they were crossing the road? “Ketchup!”… I know, it’s a debilitating illness.

And with that thought I open a 500ml bottle of “tradition”, yes it does come in a bottle, and poured this fine brew into a 500ml Stein.

A: Deep mahogany. Yeah that’s right – I compared the appearance of this beer with wood. The 1cm slightly tanned head dissipated quickly enough that I turned my head and found a light lacing left… how very un-German of this beer. 8/10.

S: Toffee, toasted biscuits, very inviting indeed. Did I also detect a hint of gingerbread or am I going crazy? … That was a rhetorical question by the way. The grain is the forefront of this Ale-like brew, I suspect it will be a fairly malt driven affair. 8/10.

T: Sourdough flavours crop up to the front palate, followed by a toffee note and ending with a fat malty finish (with a slight bitter aftertaste reminding you that there were indeed hops invited to the Dunkel party). It’s full flavoured without being some obnoxiously-expensive Belgian brew (don’t get me wrong – I love Belgian beers), yet it’s also no competition for its Hefeweizen cousin… sorry Herr Bayerische Dunkel. 7/10.

M: Smooth and creamy, an excellent combination! The carbonation is a little light but no complaints here. 7/10.

D: This beer is a likeable chap, though less likely to excite than its Hefeweizen cousin it’s still a bit more social than its Hefeweissbier Dunkel brother, in other words if you had to pick between the three my recommendation would be: 1. Hefeweissbier, 2. Bayerische “Tradition” Dunkel, and 3. Hefeweissbier Dunkel… it’s still very likeable though. 7/10.

Food Match: Baked potatoes with whatever slab of meat you get your hands on, or large flat fried mushrooms for us vegetarians.

Standard

Leave a Reply

