Paulaner Munchen Oktoberfest Bier

Total Score: 7.5/10 Bananas1 GreenApple1 Bread1 Stein1

First bruview back since a cold debilitated my senses of taste and smell [this was 3 years ago – ironically I’m posting old reviews because I have another cold] and I decided on something borderline special (a limited brew!).

Poured from a 1L can into a Paulaner 1L stein – glass matching my beers now.

A: The beer poured a 3.5cm white head that fizzled down to a half centimetre lacing. The body itself was a cloudy orange with a steady stream of bubbles rising… pleasing without being exceptional. 7/10.

S: It’s a wheat beer so all the usual suspects are here: bananas, clove spice, and sour dough. There is a stronger hint of actual spirit grain than usual and I surmise this may be down to the alcohol content more than anything else. 8/10.

T: Quite a fruity taste upfront – led by banana flavours, with cider apples in close support. The sour dough is also strong in this one, but otherwise it’s a standard fare Weiss bier. I’m getting a sharp alcohol back note which betrays this brew in respect to its competition (give me a Weihenstephaner any day of the week!). 7/10.

M: It has a creamy and heavy wheat beer structure which beckons for another sip – I quite like my wheat beers for this reason. Carbonation is right in the middle (not too fizzy, not too flat). 8/10.

D: Easily drinkable, and in large quantities. However one would argue this is the point of a wheat beer: to slake a thirst but leave it wanting more (God knows I want more), so for this reason and comparing it to other (more complex) wheat beers this is merely an above average beer. Will I drink another? Perhaps, but at the price Weihenstephaner is a much better buy/beer overall. 8/10.

Food match: Oktoberfest food; fried pork, fried onions, fried potato, fried bread, fried sausage, fried etc… You get the picture.

Standard

Leave a Reply

