Mac’s Hop Rocker Pilsener

Total Score: 7.85/10 Nut1 Earth1 Coriander1 Stein1

THE GREAT ANZAC PILSNER FACE-OFF!!!

Time for a Pilsner face-off! Two decent Australian (and one Kiwi!) Pilsner’s battle head to head for my admiration: The grand prize being my gracious future consumeration (yes, yes, it’s not a real word, let’s get past all that). The last beer in the face-off is the Kiwi underdog Mac’s Hop Rocker Pilsener.

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a 500ml Stein glass.

A: Golden straw hue lends itself well to the body, with a 2cm chalk head that reduced to half a centimetre. Nothing special. 5/10.

S: I could breathe this in all day: nutty malts with strong earthy hops with a herbaceous note… I’m enamoured with its musk for reasons known only to beer drinkers across the globe. 9/10.

T: The flavour is also nutty malts with earthy hops, and a slightly acidic/bitter aftertaste (like wormwood). It’s an interesting combination for a Pilsner and I dig it. It’s not quite as hoppy as you would expect from the name but it does the job well. 8/10.

M: Creamy and medium bodied. A good Pilsner feel. 6/10.

D: It’s a very good effort and I commend the Mac’s brewers for thinking outside the square. It doesn’t taste traditionally Pilsner and you could almost mistake it for a Pale Ale (like I did with the James Squire), but it’s an easy six pack for me. 8/10.

Food match: Spicy chicken with a garden salad… there, I said it! Also could go well with seafood, shell fish or calamari.

Final “GREAT ANZAC PILSNER FACE-OFF” verdict: None of the three beers I reviewed came close to being stylistically like a real Czech Pilsner, and the only one that attempted to be a stylistically Pilsner (Bohemian Pilsner) was my least favourite. Ironically the one furthest from a Pilsner (Hop Rocker) was the best in my buds (taste-buds) proving that it sometimes pays to be different kiddo 😉

Standard

2 thoughts on “Mac’s Hop Rocker Pilsener

  1. Rob says:

    Hilarious! Educational, insightful and useful reviews doc.
    I had my own little pils off recently consisting of Stefanos pilsner, pilsner Urquell, Moa pilsner and Wiehenstephaner.
    The other that I didn’t get was montieths bohemian pilsner I have seen around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

