Sleeping Giant IPA

Total Score: 6.25/10 Caramel1 Malt1 HopFlower1 Nonicpint1

This caught my eye at the local Sir Daniel Murphy Esquire the Third’s and as I’m a fan of any brew that has “Pale Ale” in its name I thought I would give it a go.

Poured from a 330ml bottle into a Guinness pint glass.

A: Body and head resemble the appearance of a nice refreshing iced tea. The head started off pretty flat and subsided to a thin densely packed white head… still appealing. 7/10.

S: The sharp resiny hops hit the nose with the promise of a damn bitter Ale, which I’m liking! There is a light background aroma of caramel malts that offer a slight balance to the punchy hops. 7/10.

T: The sweet caramel malts almost immediately surrender to the sharp resiny and bitter hops… though it’s not as bitter as I was expecting from an IPA. The Ale offers not a great deal of flavour complexity outside of this. 6/10.

M: Creamy and medium bodied. A good balance in this department. 4/10.

D: It’s an alright drop, not as heavy as some other IPA’s I’ve tried and I could see myself drinking a few more, however I feel the biggest letdown is the lack of flavour complexity (I don’t think I tasted more than one type of hops in this brew). Everything else is decent enough. 7/10.

Food match: Cheese platter, canapés and tapas… party food.

Standard

Leave a Reply

