Little Creatures Pale Ale

Total Score: 8.85/10 Lemon1 HopFlower1 Butter1 Nonicpint1

It’s taken a few reviews to get to what is quite possibly my favourite Australian craft beer and here it is: Little Creatures Pale Ale! [Warning: the below review will be tainted by bias]*

Poured from a 568ml (pint-sized) bottle into a 500ml Stein glass (thank God the Germans give about an inch of head room on their glasses!).

A: Golden amber cloudy body, a very typical Pale Ale colour, with a slightly golden white 1.5cm head that retains very well… points there. 8/10.

S: Floral hop aromas with crystal malts; the smell that Ale dreams are made of… not much else to say. 8/10.

T: The taste begins with light toasty malts that almost immediately surrender to the hops, sublime if you’re a hop-head like I am. There are at least three distinct hop flavours I can detect in palate order: 1) buttery hops, 2) grassy citrus hops and 3) a final spicy hop – this ends on the expected bitter note, however it’s not overpowering… to me this is the closest Ale I’ve found to what I would make myself given the skills of brewing. 9/10.

M: Creamy and medium bodied, well balanced. 8/10.

D: If I had an infinite supply of this I would die a happy man. In reality though I’m hard pressed to afford it (it’s in the upper echelons of Australian macro beers price-wise). It is a fantastically drinkable Ale that puts pretty much all Australian brews to shame… sorry CUB, Toohey’s, Fosters – this is a real beer! 10/10.

Food match: Roasted game bird or poultry with a light salad. Thai cuisine is a spot on match in my books.

*The me of now, three years later, actually prefers Feral Hop Hog and rates this as the best Australian year-round craft beer, not to disparage LCPA though – it is still a damn fine beer.

Standard

Leave a Reply

